Community discussions

 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 10:02 am

Hi!

Winbox takes a lot of traffic, if it is simply connected to a router (about 200kbit/s).
Is there any possibility to limit this?

Today, I just had the problem, that two engineers have been connected on a low-bandwidth-link and that caused problems...

Thank you for your hints
Stril
 
User avatar
xvo
Member
Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 10:29 am

Winbox traffic depends on the number of simultaneously opened windows (number of data, that need to be refreshed in real-time).
 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 10:48 am

Hi!

Yes, but with only one window, I already see 200 kbps...
 
nescafe2002
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 10:51 am

You can use ssh to configure device on low bandwith links.
 
yancho
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 3:04 pm
Location: LV

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 11:46 am

Yes, but with only one window, I already see 200 kbps...
Torch? :)
 
User avatar
xvo
Member
Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:04 pm

Yes, but with only one window, I already see 200 kbps...
Torch? :)
Not necessarily :)
For example firewall with around 40 rules - adds around 100kbps in spikes.
Interfaces window with 10 interfaces - 80kbps, almost constantly.
IPsec Installed SAs with 10 items - 20kbps.
So opening a bunch of windows can easily create a constant bandwidth of 200-250kbps.

As was already mentioned by @nescafe2002 - if it becomes a problem, one can always use ssh.
 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:09 pm

Hi!

I see constantly 200 kbps with NO open windows.

...tested with CRS 326.


Stril
 
User avatar
xvo
Member
Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:16 pm

Hi!

I see constantly 200 kbps with NO open windows.

...tested with CRS 326.


Stril
Are you sure that it's winbox traffic?
 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:50 pm

Hi!

Absolutely.
I checked it twice
 
User avatar
xvo
Member
Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:08 pm

Hi!

Absolutely.
I checked it twice
It should not be that way.
That is winbox connections to 4 different routers:
Lower 3 have no open windows, only cpu/time/date/etc in the dashboard.
Upper one has an open IP --> Firewall --> Connections from where I took a screenshot.
So it never rises over 5kbps/10kbps (To winbox/From winbox) for the ones without windows open.
MikroTik CCR1009.jpg
So check again that it is a single winbox connection and not something else on the router.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
seho
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 11:05 am

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 3:08 pm

How are you connecting with Winbox?

When I connect to the Router I can also see, up to 250kbits but only when I use the MAC-ADDRESS for connecting.

Greets,
Sebastian
 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:09 pm

Hi!

Thats strange... I am connecting to the IP of the CRS.
I just checked my Firewall-connection-list....

If I just connect to the CRS, it consumes only a few kbps (14,4)
If I only open the interface-list, it goes up to 260 kbps

--> The problem seems to be the Interface List.

Can you confirm this?
 
User avatar
xvo
Member
Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:15 pm

Hi!

Thats strange... I am connecting to the IP of the CRS.
I just checked my Firewall-connection-list....

If I just connect to the CRS, it consumes only a few kbps (14,4)
If I only open the interface-list, it goes up to 260 kbps

--> The problem seems to be the Interface List.

Can you confirm this?
As I already posted, for 10 interfaces I have ~80kbps, so 260kbps for your almost 30 interfaces totally makes sense.
 
Stril
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:18 pm

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:20 pm

Hi!

It would be great to be able to configure the refresh rate to lower that bandwidth consumption...
 
User avatar
xvo
Member
Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Winbox-Traffic - 200kbit/s

Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:43 pm

Hi!

It would be great to be able to configure the refresh rate to lower that bandwidth consumption...
You can give it a try here: viewtopic.php?t=45934

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 90 guests