Community discussions

 
Elliot
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 3:04 pm

CRS 317/328 FCS Errors

Mon Nov 12, 2018 5:42 pm

Hi everyone,
our set up is CISCO 350X -> CRS317 -> CRS328 connected via optic fiber cable and SFP+ traceiver. I've noticed that there are over 7,5K disconnects between MK devices in interface status over 14 days of uptime. I've also noticed that there is a large number of FCS Error in counters.

I've tried enabling flow control= auto on both sides and advertising only 10G Full, but no change there. Ironically connection between CISCO and CRS 317 is completely fine.
If any of you have any suggestion it would be a great help. Also if someone here knows what's the cause of this explanation below would be much appreciated. Thank you.

FYI: There's no routing whatsoever on switches (only VLAN). SFP+ traceivers and fiber cables are brand new and clean.
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: CRS 317/328 FCS Errors

Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:16 pm

I have bad news and good news. Which one do You want first?

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=139155
 
Elliot
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 3:04 pm

Re: CRS 317/328 FCS Errors

Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:52 am

I have bad news and good news. Which one do You want first?

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=139155
HAHA, thanks a lot, but I'd like to hear good news first.
From what I've read it seems that there's software problem in RouterOS. I'm running ROS 43.4 on all Mikrotik devices. It also seems that this is problem in CRS 328.

I'm sure Mikrotik is working on the fix, but I'm not sure how long can our client wait for another update. I'm thinking that I could try to switch SFO+ traceivers for regular SFP because a lot people had issues with 10G connections, so this could be a temporary patch, but idk. If you have any suggestions of your own or you know how to resolve this issue I would be very happy.

Thanks you.
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: CRS 317/328 FCS Errors

Tue Nov 13, 2018 7:22 pm

I have bad news and good news. Which one do You want first?

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=139155
HAHA, thanks a lot, but I'd like to hear good news first.
From what I've read it seems that there's software problem in RouterOS. I'm running ROS 43.4 on all Mikrotik devices. It also seems that this is problem in CRS 328.

I'm sure Mikrotik is working on the fix, but I'm not sure how long can our client wait for another update. I'm thinking that I could try to switch SFO+ traceivers for regular SFP because a lot people had issues with 10G connections, so this could be a temporary patch, but idk. If you have any suggestions of your own or you know how to resolve this issue I would be very happy.

Thanks you.
There is a software problem on SwOS. RouterOS works ok. That's how I solved the issue: I'm running RouterOS on the CRS328. I couldn't push 10Gbm since I didn't have hardware enough to test this. But I could (and did) pass 2Gb through the 10Gb interfaces - using two computers ate each CSS326( they were linked through the 10Gb ports at CRS328).
 
Elliot
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 3:04 pm

Re: CRS 317/328 FCS Errors

Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:03 pm

There is a software problem on SwOS. RouterOS works ok. That's how I solved the issue: I'm running RouterOS on the CRS328. I couldn't push 10Gbm since I didn't have hardware enough to test this. But I could (and did) pass 2Gb through the 10Gb interfaces - using two computers ate each CSS326( they were linked through the 10Gb ports at CRS328).
I'm afraid that in my case RouterOS works like sh*t. 10G connection between CRS317 and CRS328 is almost unusable so I don't know how to solve this issue.
 
Cabezas654
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:47 pm

Re: CRS 317/328 FCS Errors

Wed Nov 14, 2018 1:17 pm

Did support solve this for you?

I want to add a CSS326 to my CRS328, but worried about the issues you had with the trunk, CRS326 is a lot more expensive just to get ROS (and SwOS works well for a switch).

Do you have a DAC cable to try? Could it be FC specific?
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: CRS 317/328 FCS Errors

Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:30 pm

I'm afraid that in my case RouterOS works like sh*t. 10G connection between CRS317 and CRS328 is almost unusable so I don't know how to solve this issue.
I don't have a CRS317, so I don't know how they behave. The CRS328 have a problem with SFP+ and SwOS - but works with RouterOS. The CSS326 are working ok with SwOS. At least they are working OK with the resources I use.
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: CRS 317/328 FCS Errors

Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:31 pm

Did support solve this for you?

I want to add a CSS326 to my CRS328, but worried about the issues you had with the trunk, CRS326 is a lot more expensive just to get ROS (and SwOS works well for a switch).

Do you have a DAC cable to try? Could it be FC specific?
Support said it will be addressed on future versions of SwOS, suggested to use RoS. I have pasted their answer on this thread. I don't have a DAC to test it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 116 guests