Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
tandem
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 8:54 pm

Moving to new Hardware

Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:17 pm

We have purchased a box to install Mikrotik on, but it won't be here for a week or two. I want to get going on the configuration of a gateway router, and have an old 233mhz Pentium II box sitting around. If I install on that machine, and then move the harddrive over to the permanent box, how difficult is it to get things up and running?
 
mip
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:19 pm
Location: Ráckeve
Contact:

Thu Nov 18, 2004 12:20 am

I think interfaces are identified by mac, so if you will use same cards, no problem. Otherwise you will have to set up ne interfaces just like the old ones were. You will not see removed cards, and their settings. At queues and firewall rules most of the rule will contain "unknown" interface. So its suxs.
I wuold like to use flags to mark interfae, and equall them to ne or replaced interface to apply all the old setting to a new one. Thats what you want too, but we have no way to do it.

would be nice if I was wrong, but not hope so...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7q0Y_JZMrg - the country you must visit

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baks38RUS, Fesiitis, Zacharias and 64 guests