Community discussions

 
User avatar
BlackFate
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:22 pm

EoIP + DHCP Issue

Tue Dec 04, 2018 12:44 am

Hello all!

Goal: Use the Mik2 eth4 to get a 192.168.78.0/24 IP from the bridge1 DHCP Server in Mik1
Problem: Even though the EoIP interface connection is established, when I connect a PC to eth4 (Mik2) I cant get an IP address from Mik1.
Few notes:
1) The Mik1 pptp client doesn't force any default routes.
2) Both Mik1 & Mik2 have a default route through their respective wan interfaces
3) I didnt setup any manual routes. (could this be the issue?)

Image

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Alex
 
Redmor
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: EoIP + DHCP Issue

Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:56 am

Hello all!

Goal: Use the Mik2 eth4 to get a 192.168.78.0/24 IP from the bridge1 DHCP Server in Mik1
Problem: Even though the EoIP interface connection is established, when I connect a PC to eth4 (Mik2) I cant get an IP address from Mik1.
Few notes:
1) The Mik1 pptp client doesn't force any default routes.
2) Both Mik1 & Mik2 have a default route through their respective wan interfaces
3) I didnt setup any manual routes. (could this be the issue?)

Image

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Alex
Disable fast path in bridge settings
ImageImage
 
User avatar
BlackFate
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:22 pm

Re: EoIP + DHCP Issue

Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:36 pm

Thank you! Do I need to apply this both in the Mik1 and Mik2?
 
Redmor
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: EoIP + DHCP Issue

Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:50 pm

Yes, I had a similar problem with gateway IP on a bridge and other IP from same subnet reaching gateway through eoips, disabled fast path on all Bridges and I was able to ping.
ImageImage
 
User avatar
BlackFate
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:22 pm

Re: EoIP + DHCP Issue

Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:38 pm

Tried that, but still nothing. Same behavior.
 
Redmor
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: EoIP + DHCP Issue

Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:51 pm

Tried that, but still nothing. Same behavior.
1. If you use a static IP, can you ping gateway?
2. Are you using keepalive? If no, enable it.
ImageImage
 
User avatar
BlackFate
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:22 pm

Re: EoIP + DHCP Issue

Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:06 pm

In order to ping 192.168.78.1 from inside Mik2 I need to add a route in Mik2 and route all traffic to 192.168.78.1 from the pptp interface. But even when I do that, the DHCP is not working.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mducharme and 49 guests