Community discussions

 
mrfly
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 2:30 am

VLAN Help on new CRS328

Tue Dec 04, 2018 2:58 am

Hello,
I am in the process of replacing my CRS226 and well I am stumped with the new firmware 6.43.4.
Currently I have my 226 configured with the old way, and everything is working.
Fundamentally, all I want to do is Trunk sfp-sfplus1, and sfp-sfplus2 ports with vlans 1,10,192,254 Tagged.
Vlan 254 is the management Vlan, with the ip address 192.168.254.3

I want all ports eth* to be untagged on vlan 1 but one. I want port ether22 to be untagged on vlan 254 (management)

Not sure how to ask this, but can someone help me with the config on this Marvell 98DX3236 switch chip.

Everything I have tried is not working. Even just trying to ping the switch from the untagged port.

example config snippet for just pinging the switch with vlans..

/interface bridge
add name=Management vlan-filtering=no
/interface vlan
add interface=Management name=v_management vlan-id=254
/ip address
add address=192.168.254.3/24 interface=Management
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=Management tagged=Management,sfp-sfpplus1 untagged=ether22 vlan-ids=254
/interface bridge set Management vlan-filtering=yes


Thanks in advance!!!
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1134
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: VLAN Help on new CRS328

Tue Dec 04, 2018 2:31 pm

post your config........
 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 707
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am

Re: VLAN Help on new CRS328

Tue Dec 04, 2018 5:23 pm

This works using the Vlan Bridge.
I can not help you with the switch chip setup.
Vlan 1 goes untagged everywhere.

/interface bridge
add  name=Bridge1 vlan-filtering=yes

/interface bridge port
add bridge=Bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=Bridge1 interface=ether2
.
.
add bridge=Bridge1 interface=ether21
add bridge=Bridge1 interface=ether22 pvid=254 ingress-filtering=yes
add bridge=Bridge1 interface=sfp-sfplus2

/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=Bridge1 tagged=Bridge1,sfp-sfplus1 vlan-ids=10
add bridge=Bridge1 tagged=Bridge1,sfp-sfplus1 vlan-ids=192
add bridge=Bridge1 tagged=Bridge1,sfp-sfplus1 untagged=ether22 vlan-ids=254

/interface vlan
add interface=Bridge1 name=v_management vlan-id=254

/ip address
add address=192.168.254.3/24 interface=v_management
Last edited by Jotne on Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.
.
Use Splunk to monitor your MikroTik Router

MikroTik->Splunk
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1134
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: VLAN Help on new CRS328

Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:02 pm

Hi Jotne, very nice!
I would just add the following
/interface bridge
add bridge=Bridge1 interface=sfp-sfplus1

I think this is one case where there is no harm no fowl to combine vlanids.....
FROM
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=Bridge1 tagged=Bridge1,sfp-sfplus2 vlan-ids=10
add bridge=Bridge1 tagged=Bridge1,sfp-sfplus2 vlan-ids=192
add bridge=Bridge1 tagged=Bridge1,sfp-sfplus2 untagged=ether22 vlan-ids=254

TO
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=Bridge1 tagged=Bridge1,sfp-sfplus1,sfp-sfplus2 vlan-ids=10, 192
add bridge=Bridge1 tagged=Bridge1,sfp-sfplus1,sfp-sfplus2 untagged=ether22 vlan-ids=254

Also, why not do this..........
FROM
/interface bridge port
add bridge=Bridge1 interface=ether22 pvid=254

TO
/interface bridge port
add bridge=Bridge1 interface=ether22 pvid=254 ingress-filtering=yes
 
mrfly
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 2:30 am

Re: VLAN Help on new CRS328

Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:55 pm

Thank you Guys for helping me with the config!!!

As soon as I add that second bride, I do lose the hardware off loading :(
Let me do some testing with the recommendations you have provided, and I will let you know how it goes.

I am wondering if I move to the SWOS (me no like), will I have the hardware benefits of the switch chip.

Thanks
Corey
 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 707
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am

Re: VLAN Help on new CRS328

Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:12 pm

@anav
Thanks for correcting my typos :)
add bridge=Bridge1 tagged=Bridge1,sfp-sfplus1,sfp-sfplus2 vlan-ids=10, 192
This should work fine, but from all post here I am some afraid of joining vlans ;)
.
Use Splunk to monitor your MikroTik Router

MikroTik->Splunk
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1134
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: VLAN Help on new CRS328

Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:38 pm

Hey Jotne, no worries. There were no typos and I figured that you left out sf1 because it was an example setup and the OP should be able to extrapolate (same same etc).

My real questions were combining the two rules into one line and adding ingress filtering!!

To the OP. Yes, one bridge only can use hw offloading. Not sure about SWOS, but I would stay away from SWOS. I believe they give that coding to high school kids high on crack.
At least my two 260GS units which are sitting on my desk not even useable, are not even useful as paperweights. :-(
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1021
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: VLAN Help on new CRS328

Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:43 pm

As soon as I add that second bride, I do lose the hardware off loading :(
I don't think you can even get your configuration working with 2 bridges ... one port can not be member of two bridges, but it seems to me that you want ether22 to become member of both Bridge1 and Management. @jotne provided a fine example configuration that you can base your configuration on it.

But, just in case you really want (and can) have more than one bridge: you can select which will be hw-offloaded and which not by including hw=yes to the ports of hw-offloaded bridge and by omitting such setting on all others (or even by explicitly disabling it with hw=no). Probably you could live with Management not offloaded ..
BR,
Metod

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: che, webbsolution and 70 guests