Community discussions

 
steen
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:15 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Active backup, bonding with vlans ?

Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:03 pm

Hello Folks!

I have a router that sits a bit bad between two CRS switches with a lot of end user devices have it as default gateway and other that is not capable of multiple default gateways, ospf, rip etc. pure end user devices. The CRS switches is not capable doing MRSTP in the chip, they are to old.

I need some redundancy for the router between the two switches. As for now the router has become isolated a couple of times and loss of connectivity.

I tried to create a bridge between the two switches inside the router, yet I had RSTP on the bridge it resulted in a packet storm in both situations with and without vlans.

The router interface has VLAN trunk with 20-30 vlans attached to it.

Question, can I bond the two router interfaces using active backup and vlan trunks or is that a bad idea ?
 
Redmor
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Active backup, bonding with vlans ?

Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:06 pm

There's VRRP that is used to backup RBs with same configuration, I don't know if it's your case, try configure it and see what happens.
ImageImage
 
steen
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:15 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Active backup, bonding with vlans ?

Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:17 pm

Hello Folks!

I have now tested active backup bonding with vlans, works perfect.
A vlan trunk with at least 10 vlans operates perfect, if the active interface fails, the active backup takes over within seconds during heavy load.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mducharme and 54 guests