Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
satman1w
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:47 am
Location: Croatia

IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:48 am

Hi,

What is happening with IP Cloud? None of my routers are able to update their addresses.
mynetname.net cannot be resolved....

Since a few of my tunnels depend on this, I would like to know, what is happening.

Thanks


nslookup says:

Code: Select all

C:\Users\user>nslookup mikrotik.com
Server: google-public-dns-a.google.com
Address: 8.8.8.8

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: mikrotik.com
Addresses: 2a02:610:7501:1000::2
159.148.147.196


C:\Users\user>nslookup mynetname.net
Server: google-public-dns-a.google.com
Address: 8.8.8.8

DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
*** No internal type for both IPv4 and IPv6 Addresses (A+AAAA) records available for mynetname.net
Last edited by satman1w on Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
joserudi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:16 pm

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:00 pm

I have the same problem. +1
 
engmohamed01
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:56 am

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:02 pm

I have The Same ,
any one can help ?
 
const
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:01 pm

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:02 pm

+1 russia
 
gotsprings
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 838
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:19 pm

Seen this since Friday. Would really appreciate and update.
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so."
Mark Twain
 
R1CH
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 913
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 11:44 pm

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:19 pm

If you use an old RouterOS version, the service no longer works. Make sure to update your RouterOS, stop the IP cloud service then start it again.

EDIT: Actually it seems like a service outage, ns1.kissthenet.net and ns2.kissthenet.net are both failing.
 
User avatar
satman1w
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:47 am
Location: Croatia

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:46 pm

If you use an old RouterOS version, the service no longer works. Make sure to update your RouterOS, stop the IP cloud service then start it again.

EDIT: Actually it seems like a service outage, ns1.kissthenet.net and ns2.kissthenet.net are both failing.
Never mind the router and the ROS version (which is updated to actual revision btw...) but none of the DNS servers including 8.8.8.8 cannot resolve "mynetname.net"!
that is the problem !
 
engmohamed01
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:56 am

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:50 pm

when i try to ping from https://network-tools.com/
its give me
Unknown error: 1214
Unknown error: 1214
Unknown error: 1214
Unknown error: 1214
Unknown error: 1214
Unknown error: 1214
Unknown error: 1214
Unknown error: 1214
Unknown error: 1214
Unknown error: 1214
 
engmohamed01
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:56 am

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:09 pm

If you use an old RouterOS version, the service no longer works. Make sure to update your RouterOS, stop the IP cloud service then start it again.

EDIT: Actually it seems like a service outage, ns1.kissthenet.net and ns2.kissthenet.net are both failing.
Never mind the router and the ROS version (which is updated to actual revision btw...) but none of the DNS servers including 8.8.8.8 cannot resolve "mynetname.net"!
that is the problem !
its working fine after update now .
 
dirtonth
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:34 pm

We have customers complaining about same issue...
 
nescafe2002
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:35 pm

mynetname.net has no A or AAAA records defined, as your nslookup reveals.

Try [your_serial].sn.mynetname.net instead:
C:\>nslookup 000a09000195.sn.mynetname.net ns1.kissthenet.net
Server:  UnKnown
Address:  2a02:610:7501:1000::201

Name:    000a09000195.sn.mynetname.net
Address:  82.x.y.z
Last edited by nescafe2002 on Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
nmt1900
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:36 am

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:35 pm

It seems to be "intermittent" problem - sometimes resolution of sn.mynetname.net works and sometimes it returns SERVFAIL...
 
dirtonth
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:41 pm

 
User avatar
satman1w
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:47 am
Location: Croatia

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:15 pm

You are missing the point!
How exactly will I help google dns to be aware of mynetname.net if I upgrade router ??

The problem is that domain is not resolvable! None of the DNS servers are aware of it.

ok?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24375
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:20 pm

It will help. Because new RouterOS has a completely different Cloud implementation which uses DIFFERENT DNS SERVERS on MikroTik side. Please do what was suggested.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jrjr
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:47 pm

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:34 pm

Hi,
On my own house router, with the latest long term version 6.42.10 it is was not working.
I tried with diferent dns servers on the router and rebooted the router several times and it still was not working
Them I updated to the latest stable version 6.43.7 and it started to work.
Best regards,
 
User avatar
qostechgl
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:37 pm

is this official? any device with firmware below 6.43 will no longer be able to update ip with cloud ip?
QOS Technologies Inc.
Montreal, Canada
www.qos.tech
 
driven
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 10:03 pm

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:44 pm

If you updated the implementation of the cloud service, why is the entire long-term branch broken including the latest release?
 
mpadmin
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 3:48 pm

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:46 pm

Same problem for all my routers on dynamic IP addresses (all using RouterOS 6.42.10). My monitoring system are showing them down, DNS names cannot be resolved.

Since one week Cloud was very unresponsive (with many timeouts), today it just completely stop. Here is the NSLOOKUP results:
> server 8.8.8.8
Default Server:  google-public-dns-a.google.com
Address:  8.8.8.8

> XXXXXXXXXXX.sn.mynetname.net
Server:  google-public-dns-a.google.com
Address:  8.8.8.8

DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
*** Request to google-public-dns-a.google.com timed-out
Maybe the problem is with the long-term version only?
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3588
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:48 pm

Maybe the problem is with the long-term version only?
As @normis hinted: problem is there for devices with ROS <= 6.42 ... devices with ROS >= 6.43 are OK.
BR,
Metod
 
dirtonth
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:52 pm

Normis,
We do not understand what's the resolution to this problem. We have a number of customers reporting issues this morning. Their mynetname dns is not resolving from anywhere. Their router (IP>Cloud) sometimes manages to update the ip, and some reports "Failed", but either or, their IP is not resolving when we ping the full hostname ([*sn*].sn.mynetname.net).

Please let us know what we should inform the customers to do.

Thanks
 
mpadmin
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 3:48 pm

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:07 pm

Maybe the problem is with the long-term version only?
As @normis hinted: problem is there for devices with ROS <= 6.42 ... devices with ROS >= 6.43 are OK.
OK, but all my routers are using RouterOS 6.42.10 (long-term) and I want to keep it that way. I need stable IP cloud service too.
 
User avatar
qostechgl
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:11 pm

Same situation here with 6.42.10 long term supporr... This needs to be fixed asap
QOS Technologies Inc.
Montreal, Canada
www.qos.tech
 
User avatar
satman1w
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:47 am
Location: Croatia

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:46 pm

It will help. Because new RouterOS has a completely different Cloud implementation which uses DIFFERENT DNS SERVERS on MikroTik side. Please do what was suggested.
Hi Normis,

But I did! My routers are all on last stable revision of ROS.(6.43.7)!
If everything works fine I should be able to resolve domain regardless of the specific router and I am unable to do so, whatever DNS server I use!
I have pasted the lookup answer in my fist post.
"No internal type for both IPv4 and IPv6 Addresses (A+AAAA) records available for mynetname.net "
regards
 
TedjeVanEs
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:14 pm
Location: Aruba

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:55 pm

I’m 12 hours flying away from that router. I need mynetname to be up to even access it. When wil cloud dyn dns be up again?
In love with RB951G-2HnD, but she's not easy to please
 
User avatar
koolandrew
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:20 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:09 pm

I am having the same issue. None of my routers using the cloud service are up, and many have a dynamic ip address; hence the need to use it, so i cannot even support it.

Pleaes make an announcement regarding this.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24375
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: IP Cloud question

Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:21 pm

No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rjscomms and 74 guests