Community discussions

 
ColoCenter
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

CCR1036-8G-2S+with HIGH CPU load

Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:29 pm

Hi,
I have a CCR1036-8G-2S+ acting as PPPoE server, with at the moment 170 sessions.
I see constantly one CPU having a high load. Randomly this load moves to another CPU. And it gradually increases, and then sometimes drops a bit. This is now happening for a week. See the images:
CPU2.PNG
CPU.PNG
The firmware is Version 6.43.4 (stable), the routerboard version is the same.

Any ideas what might cause this?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Kindis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: CCR1036-8G-2S+with HIGH CPU load

Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:38 pm

Could it we scheduled script. They run in the management process if I remember correctly.
 
ColoCenter
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CCR1036-8G-2S+with HIGH CPU load

Fri Jan 11, 2019 4:14 pm

I only have one script, that emails me the configuration once a week. Can't imagine that's the problem. Especially since the load shifts to different CPU's multiple times a day.
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

Re: CCR1036-8G-2S+with HIGH CPU load

Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:39 pm

Are u doing too much nat or mangle?

Enviado desde mi Moto G (5) mediante Tapatalk

http://www.netpro-ar.com
MTINE - MTCWE - MTCRE - MTCTCE - MTCNA
Patagonia Argentina IT Consultant

Mikrotik user from V2.7.7 - Aug/2003
 
darioferrante
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 11:47 pm
Location: Palermo

Re: CCR1036-8G-2S+with HIGH CPU load

Sun Jan 13, 2019 7:06 am

Hi,
Did you verify that the front LCD works correctly? Try however to disable it. Sometimes a failure on the serial interface that manages it generates a CPU overload.

Inviato dal mio HUAWEI MT7-TL10 utilizzando Tapatalk

 
mducharme
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:45 pm

Re: CCR1036-8G-2S+with HIGH CPU load

Sun Jan 13, 2019 7:14 am

We experienced this previously - a reboot appeared to clear it. I noticed it happens on our router when a user session is "stuck" - sometimes winbox disconnects but the router still thinks the user is logged in, and continues to think so until it is rebooted. I'm not sure if this is the cause or not, but it is correlated.
 
ColoCenter
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CCR1036-8G-2S+with HIGH CPU load

Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:05 pm

The device doesn't do nat'ing or has any magle rules.
I rebooted the device this night, and the CPU load is gone.
I noticed that the memory usage was also gradually increasing since the CPU load appeared.
mem usage.jpeg
Fortunatly it's fixed for now, but not to happy i didn't find a specific cause to prevent it in the future.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
CZFan
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:25 pm
Location: South Africa, Randburg
Contact:

Re: CCR1036-8G-2S+with HIGH CPU load

Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:37 pm

I am experiencing this on a CCR1036-12G-4S-EM, when I disable SNMP, it goes away so think it is SNMP related.

Have upgraded a couple of versions already since I originally noticed it and currently running 6.43.8 but still the same
MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCRE & MTCINE
 
ColoCenter
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CCR1036-8G-2S+with HIGH CPU load

Sun Jan 13, 2019 3:35 pm

I read about the disabling SNMP, tried it too, didn't help for me.

This is by the way what the CPU looks like after the reboot. Busy, but normal:
cpu.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
mducharme
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:45 pm

Re: CCR1036-8G-2S+with HIGH CPU load

Mon Jan 14, 2019 1:00 am

I read about the disabling SNMP, tried it too, didn't help for me.

This is by the way what the CPU looks like after the reboot. Busy, but normal:
cpu.JPG
Yes this is exactly what happened to us. In our case it seemed to start when a winbox session terminated abnormally that had a large table open (I think it was the ip routes table). The user session showed as permanently active on the router (under system->users->active users) even though it had disconnected. My guess is that the management CPU was high because it was trying to redraw the table every single time there was a change, even though the user was no longer connected.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests