Community discussions

 
cgallery
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 5:25 am

Rb4011 issues

Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:03 pm

I have two RB4011-based devices, sourced from different locations, that I'm trying to perform initial setup on.

They both behave the same way.

If I connect my PC to ports >= 2, there doesn't appear to be any sort of DHCP server running.

When I set the IP on my NIC to 192.168.88.10, I cannot ping 192.168.88.1.

Have there been any issues with these units that would require I do something differently than normal?

I checked the instructions that were provided, it seems the method is the same as other Mikrotik gear I've setup.

I did try the reset on one of them, didn't seem to help. I have a USB to Cisco console cable on the way, figured someday I might need one and it may shed some light.
 
cgallery
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 5:25 am

Re: Rb4011 issues

Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:21 pm

Forget it, I figured out that they're talking to me via port #1. The instructions say to stick my connection into #1 and devices into 2...10.

Thanks anyhow.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 52 guests