Community discussions

 
User avatar
kmansoft
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:00 pm

Poor WiFi performance - hAP AC ^2

Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:52 pm

Hello,

I'm seeing fairly unexpected low WiFi performance of hAP AC ^2...

It's set up as a home router - the internet connection is PPTP on ether1, clients connect on ether2 - 5 and WiFi.

On a wired client, I get about 85 megabit ( speedtest.net, internet.yandex.ru )

On wireless clients (a laptop 2.4 GHz, Android devices both 2.4 and 5 GHz) I'm getting max 8-9 megabit out of AC ^2.

I don't think it's an issue with "noisy neighbours" because:

1 - Frequency usage tab in Mikrotik Web Config gives S/N Floor around -100 - -105 dBm for both 2.4 and 5

2 - Switching to a 5-year old ASUS RT-AC66, same client devices start getting 20-60 megabit via WiFi ( on same speed tests ).

Relevant parts of my config:
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
add authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" group-key-update=1h \
    management-protection=allowed mode=dynamic-keys name=exotica \
    supplicant-identity="" wpa2-pre-shared-key=......
add authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" group-key-update=1h \
    management-protection=allowed mode=dynamic-keys name=despotica \
    supplicant-identity="" wpa2-pre-shared-key=......
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce \
    country=russia disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto \
    frequency-mode=regulatory-domain mode=ap-bridge security-profile=exotica \
    ssid=Exotica wireless-protocol=802.11 wmm-support=enabled wps-mode=\
    disabled
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-n/ac channel-width=20/40/80mhz-Ceee \
    country=russia disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto \
    frequency-mode=regulatory-domain mode=ap-bridge security-profile=\
    despotica ssid=Despotica wireless-protocol=802.11 wmm-support=enabled \
    wps-mode=disabled

...

/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan2

...

/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=bridge list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=ether1-out list=WAN

/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" \
    ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface-list=WAN
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment=internet out-interface=pptp-out1


Any ideas for such low wireless peformance?

I also have a hAP AC but too lazy right now to reconfigure it and compare... :) The ASUS comparison is already telling enough.

RouterOS v6.43.8 (stable) with routerboard firmware same version.
 
erlinden
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: Poor WiFi performance - hAP AC ^2

Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:04 pm

What client are you using for testing?
At what speed is the client connected?
Can you test with fixed channel?
 
pegasus123
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 7:02 am

Re: Poor WiFi performance - hAP AC ^2

Fri Feb 01, 2019 6:44 pm

i can get my max isp speed 50mbps up/down on ac2 5ghz 80mhz on Samsung S8. 2ghz seems fine as well.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3091
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Poor WiFi performance - hAP AC ^2

Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:38 pm

What I would do.
a. change your bandwidth selection for 2.4Ghz to 20Mhz (not 20/40)
b. put in manual entries for scan list channels 1-2412, 6-2437, 11-2462 (remove default)
c. put in an antenna gain of 2dbs
d. data rates if the default includes B data rates, use the manual configuration option to remove them.

for 5ghz
a. change bandwidth selection for 5Ghz to a/an/ac and use 20/40 Ce
b. Use auto for the moment for freq and scanning but for example on one of mine its set to 5180
and only three scanning entries 5175-5185, 5195-5205,
c. put in antenna gain of 2dbs
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
whatever
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:29 pm

Re: Poor WiFi performance - hAP AC ^2

Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:19 pm

In optimal conditions I get up to ~230 Mbit/s WiFi downstream with hap ac2 as AP on a 400 Mbit/s Internet Connection. 5 GHz, 80 Mhz channel (Ceee), dual chain, ac-only, 1-2m distance without any obstacles.
It should be possible to achieve more than 400Mbit/s in this conditions (I maxed out 400 with AVM Fritzbox WiFi), but 200 is enough for most usecases and still a lot more than anything possible with 2.4 GHz.
 
User avatar
kmansoft
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:00 pm

Re: Poor WiFi performance - hAP AC ^2

Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:36 pm

Thank you all.

My test devices are: Samsung S9, Huawei P10, Xiaomi A1

I upgraded the AC2 to latest 6.44 beta earlier today (for a different reason: IPSEC) and getting ~60-80 megabit now. Not 100% if it's related.

The Xiaomi A1 loses 5GHz connectivity repeatedly, switching back and forth to and from 2.4, but it could be this device model's problem not Mikrotik's.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Poor WiFi performance - hAP AC ^2

Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:25 am

Try to do a reset with latest RouterOS and reconfigure with Quickset, this will guarantee you are on all defaults. Yes, this device can get above 200Mbits wireless speed easily, so something is not right. Is that PPTP mandatory?
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests