Community discussions

 
Kindis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Ring hardware and Mikrotik

Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:14 pm

Hello,

Just bought a Ring Doorbell 2 and a Ring Chime and I'm having a very hard time getting it to work on my wAP AC devices.
The Doorbell connects but had a lot of issues connecting an loosing connection all the time.
The Chime on the other hand do not connect at all. I get unicast key exchange timeout. So after a lot of troubleshooting I changed the password to a none complex code and it connected during setup! But after that it was online for about 30 seconds downloading an update and then it just died. In the log I see Recevied deauth: unspecified (1)
Had to reset the device to get it up again. I then connected the device to my ISP router at home and it worked like a charm! No issues what so freaking ever.

Have anyone gotten Ring hardware to work with Mikrotik equipment and in that case what is the secret sauce to get it to work.
 
markmcn
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:15 am

Re: Ring hardware and Mikrotik  [SOLVED]

Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:18 pm

On the wireless security profile, Try increasing the group-key-update time from 5min(Default) to 1Hr.
Alot of domestic routers / hardware use 1Hr as their default value for this parameter.
I had issues with other IOT devices and found this a big help
 
gotsprings
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: Ring hardware and Mikrotik

Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:06 am

I have a hAP AC2 running as just a wireless access point. I have a ring connected to it on 5.0 Ghz. No real problems keeping it connected. I have the group key at 5 mins. WPA2 AES. Its been on for about 45 days now.
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so."
Mark Twain
 
Kindis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: Ring hardware and Mikrotik

Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:25 am

Hello,

Group key did the trick for the Chime! I tried this before but then I had a 20 characters long and that did not work!
Now I have 8 and set the group key to 1 hours and it works like a charm, well at least for 10 min now! :-)
What is the recommended group key update interval. I have always just left this to default as I have not had any issues what so ever before!

Update: Forgot to say but my Ring Doorbell 2 decided to stop working all together so I had to return it and get a new one. Battery i charging so I know more tonight about that one but as the last one died my guess it had a hardware issue!
 
Micropower
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:57 pm

Re: Ring hardware and Mikrotik

Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:38 am

I'm using CAPSMAN and set Group-key-update to 01:00:00 and have had no luck with 2 doorbells.
aes and WAP WPA2 on with now a shorter 8 character password. No issues connecting with any other device.
Anyone else have experience? The device says has a problem connecting to the Internet. Seems like its choking on the password.
Only thing I know to do is get a different brand AP just for this device.
 
gotsprings
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: Ring hardware and Mikrotik

Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:19 am

I'm using CAPSMAN and set Group-key-update to 01:00:00 and have had no luck with 2 doorbells.
aes and WAP WPA2 on with now a shorter 8 character password. No issues connecting with any other device.
Anyone else have experience? The device says has a problem connecting to the Internet. Seems like its choking on the password.
Only thing I know to do is get a different brand AP just for this device.
Do the work... It can probably be figured out.
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so."
Mark Twain
 
Kindis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: Ring hardware and Mikrotik

Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:54 am

I'm using CAPSMAN and set Group-key-update to 01:00:00 and have had no luck with 2 doorbells.
aes and WAP WPA2 on with now a shorter 8 character password. No issues connecting with any other device.
Anyone else have experience? The device says has a problem connecting to the Internet. Seems like its choking on the password.
Only thing I know to do is get a different brand AP just for this device.
Most common issue is signal strength would guess. Have you tested them only mounted or indoor close to the AP?
The biggest issue for me was the Chime and not the Doorbell 2. The Doorbell did connect with 20 character long password and group key update set to 5 min.
What does the Doorbell say or does it just try to connect without being successful?
Also I should say that the 8 character long password is none complex.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot], petertosh and 94 guests