Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24316
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Kiss The Net (KTN) Beta available

Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:20 pm

"Kiss The Net" is a small free utility that runs a quick scan of your network, and makes a PDF of it's layout.
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/KTN_1.0beta1.zip

The test version requirements are:
Windows XP/2000/2003/Vista with Internet Exporer 6 or better.

You are welcome to report your findings :)
 
airtech
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 3:06 am

Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:14 am

It worked to a point, but it kept popping up a debugger window on me. It did actually scan the network, but I just have to keep telling it not to debug.
 
User avatar
BrianHiggins
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:07 am
Location: Norwalk, CT
Contact:

Fri Mar 30, 2007 7:05 am

nifty... does it scan via SNMP for routing details?

if so, it needs the ability to specify a start IP and community string
 
User avatar
stephenpatrick
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:26 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Fri Mar 30, 2007 3:12 pm

It's very nice, but took several attempts till it ran to completion on a W2k machine in the office - several attempts made it crash i.e. program terminated.

So a couple of bug fixes and "yet another useful tool from MT" - well done.

Regards

CableFree Solutions
CableFree - Wireless Excellence - Microwave, E-band Radios, Free Space Optics, High performance Radios & Routers
http://www.cablefree.net
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24316
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Mar 30, 2007 3:27 pm

It worked to a point, but it kept popping up a debugger window on me. It did actually scan the network, but I just have to keep telling it not to debug.
what do you mean by a debugger window? can you make a screenshot?
 
voip4life
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:52 pm
Location: US

Fri Mar 30, 2007 4:01 pm

Isn't this about the same as the dude discovery (with pdf output)? Only it's limited to your local network only...any chance on adding the capability to add networks?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24316
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Mar 30, 2007 4:08 pm

Sometimes I just don't understand you fellow forum members :)

The Dude - bigger, smarter, more features, complicated, free
KTN - smaller, less features, simpler, free

There are only two choices.
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Fri Mar 30, 2007 4:11 pm

Perhaps there should be a "even smaller, even less features, very expensive" version to satisfy those who need that? ;)

Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
kapusta_kiszona
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Poland

Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:57 pm

Works OK here. Nice soft. Thanx.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Apr 02, 2007 10:39 am

Perhaps there should be a "even smaller, even less features, very expensive" version to satisfy those who need that? ;)

Best regards,
Christian Meis
this software can caost you whatever you want it to - but starting price is - free. :roll:
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Mon Apr 02, 2007 10:57 am

You did see the smiley at the end of my post, yes? ;)

I think most people here DO realize that they get a great piece of software for FREE (talking of Dude) from MikroTik. And most of those do really appreciate this...

Best regards,
Christian Meis
Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Mon Apr 02, 2007 12:46 pm

Works OK here. Nice soft. Thanx.
----
yes, that's sofware is nice and magic, but after use it my pc can't connect to gateway...
now for temporary when i need it, i will use it
so sorry from and to router we have rules policy

nice i think... thank Mikrotik and Team

Hasbullah.com
----
 
kapusta_kiszona
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Poland

Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:53 pm

This soft works perfectly on my machine, but on the other hand i never have luck with Dude.
 
User avatar
nest
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:52 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Sun Apr 15, 2007 2:53 pm

Normis

When I tried to run it, my Sophos complained. I am guessing here that it was a false positive.

It identified it as "Mal/Behav-016". See http://www.sophos.com/virusinfo/analyse ... av016.html

So was unable to test it any further at this time. :-(

We have a support contract with Sophos, if it helps I can send them the exe file so they can figure out why it is a false positive.

Ron.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24316
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Apr 16, 2007 7:52 am

nest - the tool scans the network and all the ports, maybe your software didn't like this behavior, although this is exactly what Dude and KTN are made to do. Before using them, I suggest to turn off any firewalls or network security systems. You can send them the file if you like.
 
User avatar
nest
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:52 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Tue Apr 17, 2007 1:17 am

I use Dude all the time and Dude has not triggered Sophos so far, only KTN did this as soon as I unpacked it from the zip file.

I will send Sophos Tech Support the exe so they can investigate why they think it is Malware.

Ron.
 
User avatar
nest
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:52 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:39 pm

Normis

I have received a reply from Sophos Technical Support acknowledging that the file kiss.exe is not malware and has been incorrectly identified by their anti-virus engine. I.e. it is a false positive. They have released a new IDE file to remove this false positive. I have this latest update from them, and I m now able to report that kiss.exe is NOT reported as a Malware.

So... I am now able to test this program without Sophos stopping me. :-)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24316
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:39 pm

Normis

I have received a reply from Sophos Technical Support acknowledging that the file kiss.exe is not malware and has been incorrectly identified by their anti-virus engine. I.e. it is a false positive. They have released a new IDE file to remove this false positive. I have this latest update from them, and I m now able to report that kiss.exe is NOT reported as a Malware.

So... I am now able to test this program without Sophos stopping me. :-)
thank you very much! let us know how you like the program, and how it could be made better
 
zikachu
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 4:08 am

Re:

Sun Jun 17, 2007 3:26 pm

It worked to a point, but it kept popping up a debugger window on me. It did actually scan the network, but I just have to keep telling it not to debug.

thanks for it, but the same problem appear on my computer.
 
mstead
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:41 am

Re:

Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:00 am

It worked to a point, but it kept popping up a debugger window on me. It did actually scan the network, but I just have to keep telling it not to debug.
what do you mean by a debugger window? can you make a screenshot?
I think what people are referring to can be disabled by turning off all script debugging in Internet Explorer. I have Microsoft Visual Studio 6 installed and that kept trying to debug KTN - so I assume that there is a bug or two in the program.

Malcolm

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 94 guests