Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
aleksandar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 11:38 pm

Load balancing 2 links to same ISP

Thu Mar 22, 2007 2:47 pm

Hi,
What method to use for load balancing to single isp that deliver internet to our mikrotik router with several 4Mb SHDSL modems that operate in bridge mode.

Whole idea is agregating all avaliable traffic to single logical link without changing source ip adress.
 
User avatar
mag
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:32 pm
Location: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Contact:

Re: Load balancing 2 links to same ISP

Thu Mar 22, 2007 6:47 pm

Whole idea is agregating all avaliable traffic to single logical link without changing source ip adress.
Best would be using some kind of Ethernet-trunk/-channel.
That would recommend of course an adequate switch at the ISP-side too.

the usual way is (OSPF-) ECMP, but this is working at the IP-layer.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:57 pm

You could use the new interface routing on RouterOS 3.0 to see if you can accomplish that. Would be curious to see if that works. You should be able to send traffic to the default gateway out whichever physical interface each modem is on. You would need an interface per modem.
 
User avatar
aitsecurity
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 12:28 am
Location: venezuela

Re: Load balancing 2 links to same ISP

Fri Mar 23, 2007 11:35 pm

Whole idea is agregating all avaliable traffic to single logical link without changing source ip adress.
Best would be using some kind of Ethernet-trunk/-channel.
That would recommend of course an adequate switch at the ISP-side too.

the usual way is (OSPF-) ECMP, but this is working at the IP-layer.

if you use OSPF , you will have problem because, the metric is the bandwidth, and is one ISP have T1 and the other is 512 kbps, the traffic only pass to ISP T1.

you will need BGP.


or put static routes, and segment de users, but i very like more BGP but you will need contact the ISP for talk about the AS of BGP ,etc

in Wiki on this website have example for static routes

Best regards

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: HarolsdPhivy, MSN [Bot], valnuke and 94 guests