Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 548
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

when DFS and aTPC for Europe?

Thu Nov 25, 2004 12:02 am

when a decent DFS and the aTPC will be supported by MT?????

WE MUST HAVE A COMPLIANT PRODUCT.

thanks
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24605
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Thu Nov 25, 2004 9:32 am

already there in 2.9
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
mip
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:19 pm
Location: Ráckeve
Contact:

Thu Nov 25, 2004 10:55 pm

already there in 2.9
That we have not yet.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7q0Y_JZMrg - the country you must visit
 
Trisc
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 11:24 pm
Location: Glos, UK

Thu Nov 25, 2004 11:01 pm

already there in 2.9
Great. And when can we expect 2.9??

TC
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:57 am

What would be of more interested to me (apart from a estimate for the release date - which we surely won't get right now!), is a - even preliminary - doc about how the new regulatory domain settings work, i.e. what effects they really have (restricting available channels, control max. tx-power, ...).

Anything like that already available?
Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24605
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Nov 26, 2004 9:50 am

what do you mean? you are welcome to test it: http://www.mikrotik.com/download_bt.html

it will not be included in 2.8

to christian -> easy:

1. set the `frequency-mode=regulatory-domain`
2. select `country=germany`

and you will get all allowed frequencies and their allowed output powers.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:11 am

OK, so you restrict frequency usage and tx.power according to country regulations? Fine... :D
Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 548
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:12 am

It is not all about frequency and output power.

To complain with eu rule you have to put into the equation also the antenna gain.
In fact without the antenna gain you can't have a dfs working fine and also the aTPC.

Is there a such input in 2.9???????
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24605
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:26 am

Regulations require to follow tx power limits depending on frequency and
this is the rule followed by our software (that is - card is using max tx power as allowed in channel it is transmitting in). To narrow the range of frequencies used by AP (in DFS mode - to choose channel from) and STA (to search for AP), use scan-list setting, e.g. scan-list=5500-5700.

note that max tx power is reduced by 3dBi (30dBm->27dBm) to follow tx power mitigation rule so that legacy devices can operate in environment where TPC is required.

it is all according to standards, you can look it up in the ETSI regulation documents.

plus: yeah, you can enter antenna gain also ..
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 548
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:35 am

In my opinion the problem is that if you use a high gain antenna and a low output power to comply with the EU, then you will have your radio switching channel a lot because your radar threshold will be esaly reached.

Proxim (mp11.a) and Alvarion (b14, b28 and vl) use the antenna gain in their firmware to control dfs and atpc, so I think should be a good reason to look into it.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24605
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:45 am

did you see what i just wrote?
plus: yeah, you can enter antenna gain also ..
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 548
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:55 am

sorry I didn'r read the last line......I'm sorry

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], eworm, sindy and 71 guests