Community discussions

issathi
just joined
Topic Author

Problems with BitTorrent

Tue Apr 16, 2019 10:20 pm

Hi, first of all, this is the first MikroTik router i have. Before that i had TP-Link TL-WR1043ND as my main router (it was connected to my ISP's "modem") and i used TP-Link TL-WR741ND as repeater to connect my desktop to internet.

I use qBittorrent and seed more than 350 multi file torrents. With my TP-Link "setup" everything was fine, i could seed and use my internet comfortably (netflix, online games.....).

I decided to replace the WR1043ND, mostly because of security concerns (it was last updated by TP-Link several years ago).

Well i bought the RB941-2nD, after several days of dinging around, I made the router to work as i wanted. The problem is that it can't handle the bittorrent load, after an our or so seeding internet becomes very slow and unusable. After i restart the router everything becomes normal, for an hour or so.

PS. As you noticed I'm not that technical.
PSS. English is not my native language.

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Problems with BitTorrent

Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:52 pm

Well, the best thing to do is post your config and then we can see if there any particular reasons for the slow down.

/export hide-sensitive file=yourconfig
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)

Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member

Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:12 pm

Take a look at system -> resources, before the problem and after it.

We want to see memory and CPU usage. This unit is rater weak, and has only 32MB of RAM. With that many connections, conntrack may be eating all your RAM.

issathi
just joined
Topic Author

Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:30 am

Hi, thanks for your replies!

anav - i attached the file, is it what you want ? )

Paternot - CPU load is 6%-30%, free memory 7.9-6.0Mb. Its like this before the problem and after it.