Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
MayestroPW
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:28 pm

FastTrack not working in a router-on-a-stick conf with multiple bridges. Bug?

Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:51 pm

Hello,
For the past 2 years, I've been struggling to get FastTrack working in my config. Problem is that FastTrack is not working when you have a router-on-a-stick configuration with each VLAN in a different bridge.
I don't know why is that, but it is really annoying especially when you want to send big files between VLANs.
I will give you an example. Let's say I want to send a file from VLAN 211 to 212 and traffic goes like this:
[PC from VLAN 211] -> Ether1 -> Bridge0 -> vlan2 (211) -> Bridge2 -> Router -> Bridge3 -> vlan3 (212) -> Bridge0 -> Ether1 -> [PC from VLAN 212]
Then FastTrack is not working at all.

But when I remove 1 bridge on the route, and move IP and DHCP server on VLAN interface, then FastTrack is working as it should.
[PC from VLAN 211] -> Ether1 -> Bridge0 -> vlan2 (211) -> Bridge2 -> Router -> vlan3 (212) -> Bridge0 -> Ether1 -> [PC from VLAN 212]

Can somebody explain to me, why it's working like this? Or maybe it's a bug? Is it possible to fix this?

My interfaces config:
/interface bridge
add auto-mac=no name="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name="bridge1-ran2" protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name="bridge2-han1" protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name="bridge3-han2" protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name="bridge4-han3" protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name="bridge5-han4" protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name="bridge6-han5" protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name="bridge7-han6" protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name="bridge8-man1" protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name="bridge9-man2" protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name=bridgeA-fiw1 protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name=bridgeB-wan1 protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name=bridgeC-wan2 protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name=bridgeD-wan3 protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name=bridgeE-wan4 protocol-mode=none
add auto-mac=no name=bridgeF-wan5 protocol-mode=none

/interface vlan
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlan1-ran2" vlan-id=121
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlan2-han1" vlan-id=211
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlan3-han2" vlan-id=212
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlan4-han3" vlan-id=221
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlan5-han4" vlan-id=222
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlan6-han5" vlan-id=223
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlan7-han6" vlan-id=224
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlan8-man1" vlan-id=311
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlan9-man2" vlan-id=321
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlanA-fiw1" vlan-id=421
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlanB-wan1" vlan-id=521
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlanC-wan2" vlan-id=522
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlanD-wan3" vlan-id=523
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlanE-wan4" vlan-id=524
add interface="bridge0-ban1 (Trunk)" name="vlanF-wan5" vlan-id=525

/interface bridge port
add bridge="bridge0-ban1 (Fort Knox)" interface="switch1\\ether1-ban1"
add bridge="bridge0-ban1 (Fort Knox)" interface="switch1\\ether2-wan1"
add bridge="bridge0-ban1 (Fort Knox)" interface="switch1\\ether3-wan2"
add bridge="bridge0-ban1 (Fort Knox)" interface="switch1\\ether4-wan3"
add bridge="bridge0-ban1 (Fort Knox)" interface="switch1\\ether5-wan4"
add bridge="bridge1-ran2" interface="bridge0\\vlan1-ran2"
add bridge="bridge2-han1" interface="bridge0\\vlan2-han1"
add bridge="bridge3-han2" interface="bridge0\\vlan3-han2"
add bridge="bridge4-han3" interface="bridge0\\vlan4-han3"
add bridge="bridge5-han4" interface="bridge0\\vlan5-han4"
add bridge="bridge6-han5" interface="bridge0\\vlan6-han5"
add bridge="bridge7-han6" interface="bridge0\\vlan7-han6"
add bridge="bridge8-man1" interface="bridge0\\vlan8-man1"
add bridge="bridge9-man2" interface="bridge0\\vlan9-man2"
add bridge=bridgeA-fiw1 interface="bridge0\\vlanA-fiw1"
add bridge=bridgeB-wan1 interface="bridge0\\vlanB-wan1"
add bridge=bridgeC-wan2 interface="bridge0\\vlanC-wan2"
add bridge=bridgeD-wan3 interface="bridge0\\vlanD-wan3"
add bridge=bridgeE-wan4 interface="bridge0\\vlanE-wan4"
add bridge=bridgeF-wan5 interface="bridge0\\vlanF-wan5"
 
User avatar
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11593
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: FastTrack not working in a router-on-a-stick conf with multiple bridges. Bug?

Fri Apr 19, 2019 6:09 pm

How do you determine that fasttrack is not working fir you? Is it that facttrack counters don't increment or is it the lack of performance?

Either way, your bridge/vlan setup is a mess making CPU to push the same packet around just too many times. I strongly advise you to redo the whole VLAN config ... afrer reading this excelent thread about bridge VLAN filtering.

Ideally packet flow should be something like this:

PC vlanX -> ether1 trunk -> bridge -> vlanX interface -> routing engine -> vlanY interface -> bridge -> ether1 trunk -> PC vlanY

and that's same bridge both times.
 
MayestroPW
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:28 pm

Re: FastTrack not working in a router-on-a-stick conf with multiple bridges. Bug?

Fri Apr 19, 2019 6:32 pm

How do you determine that fasttrack is not working fir you? Is it that facttrack counters don't increment or is it the lack of performance?
Both.
Either way, your bridge/vlan setup is a mess making CPU to push the same packet around just too many times. I strongly advise you to redo the whole VLAN config ... afrer reading this excelent thread about bridge VLAN filtering.
It's not a mess, it's a necessity. I'm using this router as VPN server as well, and I need those bridges to assign clients to them. The real mess is VLAN filtering, making unicast traffic in bridge0 flooding all ports. No thank you.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CGGXANNX, courtois and 102 guests