Page 1 of 1

wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 3:28 pm
by sysnotdown
I have a wAP ac one and half year ago. It was stable. this year I upgrade firmware several times, now it's running 6.44.3, up to date.

then I found, it's got unstable with 5G wifi. in the end, download anything from 5G wifi will cause the router reboot instantly.

2.4G wifi still works well, so I checked it again, I found the 5G wifi can work under only one chain yet not very stable but work.

I checked chain0, chain1,chain2 one by one, all works with a little unstable. but combine any of them, such as chain0+chain1, the router crush instantly and reboot!

after many times trying , I can't fix this problem, I think the router's hardware is broken, so I brought a new one, and got it today.

and I sadly found the same trouble happens on the new router! just original settings, no upgrade, it happen again! 5G wifi connection crush in a second if there's a data stream on there. what's the fuck?

how can I do now? please give me a solution! who have the same problem?

Re: wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 3:38 pm
by erlinden
Can you share your WiFi settings?

Re: wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 3:57 pm
by sysnotdown
Can you share your WiFi settings?
please tell me how to do. I use winbox only, not console.

Re: wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 4:02 pm
by sysnotdown
my wife told me she found the 5G wifi unstable just from the first upgrade. she play games. I don't feel it so much because I just view web pages, not sensitive for short broken.

she keeps complain the connection unstable, I keep upgrading, and eventually I feel the unstable too.

now I just want to downgrade to the initial version, make my router work!

Re: wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 4:04 pm
by sysnotdown
everytime 5G wifi crush, the router reboot, and the log first line is : "router was rebooted without proper shutdown."

Re: wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 4:15 pm
by td32
it might be a failing power adapter.

Re: wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:05 pm
by sysnotdown
it might be a failing power adapter.
I just check it.

the old one is 12V, now 24V adapter, both have same problem.

Re: wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:29 pm
by schrotn
I've had several fail on me. I think we're up to 4 failures out of 10 we've bought.
Once they start having problems, the ones we had started getting incredibly hot. Even the id sticker started changing color (no idea on that one...)

Won't be buying anymore wAP ACs. We've replaced 2 of them with cAP ACs and they are doing fine so far.

I'm wondering if the failures are due to no or little air flow in the wAP cases. The cAP case has a lot more holes in it.

Re: wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:37 pm
by erlinden
please tell me how to do. I use winbox only, not console.
From Winbox you can start a terminal, just use the /export hide-sensitive command.

Re: wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:49 pm
by LSan83
everytime 5G wifi crush, the router reboot, and the log first line is : "router was rebooted without proper shutdown."
I had that message too on 1 of my 3 WAP AC.... It was unstable (lag, webfig not reacheable, ecc ecc) because the power adapter (24v) was too weak for the lenght of the cable. I switched it with a POE 802.3af/at 30W adapter and now the WAP AC is very stable at 39,5V.

Re: wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 6:04 pm
by sysnotdown
I use 19v 3.4A adapter now, the 5G wifi break when doing speed test, but the router not reboot this time. it's so wired. the 5G wifi just can't be stable under high load.

Re: wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 6:10 pm
by sysnotdown
please tell me how to do. I use winbox only, not console.
From Winbox you can start a terminal, just use the /export hide-sensitive command.

[admin@MikroTik] > export
# apr/30/2019 23:08:14 by RouterOS 6.41.3
# software id = GE82-G6KQ
#
# model = RouterBOARD wAP G-5HacT2HnD
# serial number = 7DF208FB7010
/interface bridge
add comment=defconf name=bridge
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce \
disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge ssid=\
MikroTik-E7C6BB wireless-protocol=802.11
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n/ac channel-width=20/40/80mhz-Ceee \
disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=5260 frequency-mode=superchannel \
mode=ap-bridge ssid=MikroTik-5G wireless-protocol=802.11
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/ip pool
add name=dhcp ranges=192.168.99.10-192.168.99.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge name=defconf
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan2
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LAN
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=bridge list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=ether1 list=WAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.99.1/24 comment=defconf interface=wlan2 network=\
192.168.99.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=defconf dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=ether1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.99.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=192.168.99.1 netmask=24
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes
/ip dns static
add address=192.168.99.1 name=router.lan
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
"defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=\
invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all not coming from LAN" \
in-interface-list=!LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" \
ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" \
ipsec-policy=out,ipsec
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" \
connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
"defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=\
established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=\
invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
"defconf: drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat \
connection-state=new in-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" ipsec-policy=\
out,none out-interface-list=WAN
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Asia/Shanghai
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
[admin@MikroTik] >

Re: wAP ac serious problem! maybe a bug?

Posted: Wed May 01, 2019 4:27 pm
by Samot
So is there a reason there are two active threads by you about your wAP ACs going crazy after updating to 6.44.3? Part of the problem with this is that in one thread Person 1 can tell you do X in order to help, while in the other thread Person 2 is telling you to do Y. Person 2 may have never told you do to Y if they had known you already did X they may have told you to do Z instead. It confuses things because Person 1 and/or Person 2 may not be following both threads and see that the help given between the two is either duplicated or contradictory to each other.

Plus I've always thought the SOP was to report things like this in the release announcement thread so it's all in one place in case there really is a bigger impacting issue.