Community discussions

MikroTik App

mikejp
just joined
Topic Author

Voip- CSIPSimple running on Android on hapLITE router

Sat May 11, 2019 8:15 pm

Complete beginner here, but having problems! I use VOIP on a laptop with a USB phone and '3CX for Windows' on the hapLITE - no issues. I have the CSIPSimple app on my Android phone. This works fine on my home network (Billion router) BUT on the hapLITE network, while I can dial and hear the number ringing, there is no return audio from the dialled number. A lot of Googling suggests there may be a problem with 'SIPALG'?

If anyone has any suggestions, please keep them simple!

Details
CSIP SimpleVersion 1.02.03r2457
ISP Zoom Internet (UK)
VOIP Provider Sipgate UK

I have asked both ISP and VOIP provider for help, and am awaiting a response.

sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Voip- CSIPSimple running on Android on hapLITE router

Mon May 13, 2019 6:25 pm

On Mikrotik, go ip->firewall->service-port, set the "sip" row to "disabled" to switch off the SIP ALG functionality, reboot the Mikrotik, wait for it to come back, try CSIP Simple again.

mikejp
just joined
Topic Author

Tue May 14, 2019 6:10 pm

Thank you Sindy. Will not be in that area for a few days but have printed your post off and will advise.

sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Tue May 14, 2019 6:31 pm

The advice is based on my years old experience that if something was not perfect in a SIP message, the ALG in RouterOS was unable to recognize it as being a SIP message and did not forward it at all (the message was coming from the exchange side in my case, and the exchange vendor has fixed this particular already; in your case it seems that it is something about CSIP Simple given that another softphone running on Windows experiences no issues, or so I've understood from your post at least). Other vendors' SIP ALGs used to have their own issues.