Page 1 of 1

DNS not working

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:57 am
by jordan8080
Hi,

I have a mikrotik where I put the DNS as google dns and user is getting the router IP but we cannot resolve the name for the internet part.

I can ping google.com in the router itself but for the client it was unable to. I got do some conditional forwarding to resolve certain domain name but this should not be causing not able to resolve google.com right?

Anyone can advise?

Re: DNS not working

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:20 am
by mkx
Post output of /export hide-sensitive so we can check ...

Re: DNS not working

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:05 am
by krafg
Make sure that you configure the DNS during the DHCP setup (wizard). Anyway, check it on IP -> DHCP Server -> Networks. If DNS Servers is empty, you can add Google DNS servers.

Regards.