Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
cdman
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 11:47 pm
Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

pppoe keepalive-timeout not working ?

Tue Jun 25, 2019 7:07 pm

Hi guys, using Mikrotik for PPPoE concetrators for 10+ years. Lately we have huge problem of users not disconnecting properly from Mikrotik.

We use Various RB1036 and RB1072 - and some RB3011 , but problem is same everywhere. Our settings are like:

# jun/25/2019 18:57:47 by RouterOS 6.44.3
# model = CCR1036-12G-4S

/ppp profile
add change-tcp-mss=yes dns-server=1.1.1.1,8.8.8.8 local-address=1.2.3.4 name=pppoe remote-address=stopped use-compression=no use-encryption=no use-mpls=no use-upnp=no

/interface pppoe-server server
add authentication=chap,mschap1,mschap2 default-profile=pppoe disabled=no interface=ether1 keepalive-timeout=20 service-name=test

All our routers are latest version 6.44.3 - with Routerboard Updated too. This problem start occurring not long ago, but I could not say which version start to make it. This happens in different companies since I support more than 100 , and they all start complaining from several months.

Here is an example:

user X connected and working - but he has power outage , so his computer/laptop/router goes down. Mikrotik shows session active, so when user try to login again - we give him double login error, If I go with Winbox , I see old session active - with no traffic on it. And this can continue for hours - it does not go down automatic.

According to manual: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Interface/PPPoE
keepalive-timeout (time; Default: "10") Defines the time period (in seconds) after which the router is starting to send keepalive packets every second. If there is no traffic and no keepalive responses arrive for that period of time (i.e. 2 * keepalive-timeout), the non responding client is proclaimed disconnected.

which means in our case - after 2 * 20 = 40 sec, session must be terminated, so user can connect again.

And this was working from years with no problem !

Any idea what happens and how to fix it ?
 
cdman
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 11:47 pm
Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

Re: pppoe keepalive-timeout not working ?

Tue Jul 02, 2019 12:02 am

No one else has this problem ?
 
libertybwanali
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 12:19 am

Re: pppoe keepalive-timeout not working ?

Thu Aug 08, 2019 2:27 am

Hi why not try to change the Keep alive Timeout from your current 2 *20 to the default number which is 10?

I was having the opposite of which my PPPoE Client kept disconnecting from main so i made Keep alive Timeout to ( BLANK ) and my mission is accomplished .

also manually typed the MTU to 1480, you can do the same with MAX MRU but try with just MTU 1480 and see what happens .

Also just to ask ; when you say they not logging in properly what do you mean ?

Did you check that your Hotspot User Profiles are set right?
 
User avatar
NetworkPro
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1370
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Worldwide
Contact:

Re: pppoe keepalive-timeout not working ?

Wed Dec 11, 2019 11:24 pm

We also have this problem. We can try idle-timeout 60 seconds on the profile however this is not ideal at all.

We should use one session per host setting and each client to come with his own MAC.
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPro_on_Quality_of_Service
 
ciberica
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:22 am

Re: pppoe keepalive-timeout not working ?

Tue Mar 17, 2020 4:44 pm

Hello friends, you have found the solution that has happened to me since a January 2020 update

Greetings
 
caspat
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 3:55 pm

Re: pppoe keepalive-timeout not working ?

Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:10 am

I also experience client disconnection/reconnection on some clients. i'm also on v6.44.3
 
totorik
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 3:58 pm

Re: pppoe keepalive-timeout not working ?

Mon Apr 13, 2020 4:41 pm

Confirmed on my RouterOS 6.46.2(x86)
after power outage or other reason some pppoe clients get stuck forever until i kick them manually
 
fcswart
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:23 am

Re: pppoe keepalive-timeout not working ?

Fri May 15, 2020 3:39 pm

Hello friends, you have found the solution that has happened to me since a January 2020 update

Greetings
Hi there,

I am also having similar issues and would just like to hear from you since you mentioned it solved your problem.. Which of the mentioned problems have you been having and what did you do to resolve it?

Thanks for any response, I have been going nuts over this.
 
adaanhaupt
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2014 8:27 pm

Re: pppoe keepalive-timeout not working ?

Thu Jun 11, 2020 10:34 am

We experienced a similar problem, where by users disconnected, from power outage or for what ever reason, and then when reconnecting, we get a radius time out, so the users are not able to log in again. I presume this is the problem you are describing. We then changed the PPPOE Authentication and Accounting interim update to 00:01:00 and that solved it for us. Hope this helps
 
adaanhaupt
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2014 8:27 pm

Re: pppoe keepalive-timeout not working ?

Thu Jun 11, 2020 10:43 am

We experienced a similar problem, where by users disconnected, from power outage or for what ever reason, and then when reconnecting, we get a radius time out, so the users are not able to log in again. I presume this is the problem you are describing. We then changed the PPPOE Authentication and Accounting interim update to 00:01:00 and that solved it for us. Hope this helps
 
creed23
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:10 pm

Re: pppoe keepalive-timeout not working ?

Fri Jun 26, 2020 1:10 pm

We experience the same problem.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 147 guests