Community discussions

 
Gombeen666
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 5:33 pm

L2 Bridged Static IP Route

Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:28 pm

With 4 L2 bridges on a RB750 I am trying to figure out static IP route (s) ?
dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway= ?

Do I have to create a gateway for each bridge and/or for each interface port / vlan? (confused!)

Port 1 is PTP has Vlan's (a + b + c + d )
Port 2 has AP1 Vlan01 - Bridge A (port 1 + 2)
Port 3 has AP2 Vlan02 - Bridge B (port 1 + 3)
Port 4 has AP3 Vlan03 - Bridge C (port 1 + 4)
Port 5 has local admin Vlan04 - Bridge D (port 1 + 5)
 
sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3495
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: L2 Bridged Static IP Route

Fri Jul 12, 2019 12:19 pm

For any point-to-multipoint interface, you can use its name as a route's gateway only to reach the same subnet as the route's destination one - or you have to set arp=proxy-arp one of the devices connected to the interface. So unless you need to do something special, assigning an IP address to the local and remote /interface bridge and configuring the address of the remote bridge as a gateway of any route you need on the local end and vice versa is usually a better option. All that is true if we really talk about L3 routing through the L2 tunnel interconnecting the bridges, not about L2 tunneling as such.
Instead of writing novels, post /export hide-sensitive. Use find&replace in your favourite text editor to systematically replace all occurrences of each public IP address potentially identifying you by a distinctive pattern such as my.public.ip.1.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests