Community discussions

 
wesleyna
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:28 pm

Radius timeout - Ver 6.44

Thu Jul 18, 2019 4:59 pm

We recently upgraded all our highsite side equipment to version 6.44, and ever since the upgrade, I have had 4 routerboards(3PowerBOX & 1 Powerbox Pro units) start giving authentication failed - Radius timeout on PPPoE dial ups. It is not the radius server, and I kick connections on other towers and they reconnect immediately. The issue on resolves if I reboot the PowerBox.

Is there a bug in ver. 6.44? As a temporary measure I have to create a secret for the client, as I can not reboot the router each time during busy time.
 
wesleyna
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:28 pm

Re: Radius timeout - Ver 6.44

Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:37 pm

*Bump*

Still having this issue, replaced the routerboard with a Powerbox Pro & upgraded to 6.45.2 at one site, still getting radius timeout on the routerboard, even though radius server is running fine. Issue is only resolved when router is rebooted.
 
Red0ktober
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:42 pm

Re: Radius timeout - Ver 6.44

Tue Sep 24, 2019 8:05 pm

We have had the same issue where we installed a new router with 6.44, we had to roll back to 6.43. Actually we were trying to use an RB4011 that shipped with 6.44 and wouldn't downgrade, so we had to replace it with a CCR1009. I was just googling to see if there was a resolution yet.
 
User avatar
CZFan
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1442
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:25 pm
Location: South Africa, Randburg
Contact:

Re: Radius timeout - Ver 6.44

Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:32 pm

I am running 6.44.5 long term at various sites on different devices, i.e. 3011, 1009, 1036, etc. all accessing radius without any problems
MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCRE & MTCINE
 
Red0ktober
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:42 pm

Re: Radius timeout - Ver 6.44

Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:47 pm

It would work for a day or a week, but then it would start doing radius timeouts on new authentications. This was for a PPPoE server with about 50 sessions.
 
User avatar
tomasi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 6:40 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Radius timeout - Ver 6.44

Fri Sep 27, 2019 5:33 pm

Same issue here:

PPPoE servers work for some days and, suddenly, they stop to authenticate PPPoE users, giving radius timeout error

user customerabc authentication failed - radius timeout

After reboot RB, PPPoE clients authenticate again

I saw this issue on CCR (tile) and RB450 (mipsbe) models.

I'll downgrade to 6.43.16 to try solving this
 
User avatar
CZFan
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1442
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:25 pm
Location: South Africa, Randburg
Contact:

Re: Radius timeout - Ver 6.44

Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:01 pm

It would work for a day or a week, but then it would start doing radius timeouts on new authentications. This was for a PPPoE server with about 50 sessions.
Below a screenshot of active sessions on the 1036 as example, 91 active PPPoE sessions authenticated via Radius, device has been up for 58 days
PPPoERadius.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCRE & MTCINE
 
Red0ktober
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:42 pm

Re: Radius timeout - Ver 6.44

Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:22 pm

It would work for a day or a week, but then it would start doing radius timeouts on new authentications. This was for a PPPoE server with about 50 sessions.
Below a screenshot of active sessions on the 1036 as example, 91 active PPPoE sessions authenticated via Radius, device has been up for 58 days

PPPoERadius.jpg
That's great that it's working for you, and I'm sure it's working fine for many people - or else the problem would have been identified and resolved already. However, there are obviously people who ARE experiencing an issue with this firmware. My company has been running Mikrotik with PPPoE and Radius for ten years and this is a new issue for us.
 
wesleyna
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:28 pm

Re: Radius timeout - Ver 6.44

Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:29 pm

I was in contact with Mikrotik support, they havd identified an issue, its apparently resolved in one of the Beta's. However I'm going to run a beta on my live network at this point. So for now I reboot my pppoe server routers every few days until this issue is resolved on a stable release.
 
User avatar
CZFan
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1442
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:25 pm
Location: South Africa, Randburg
Contact:

Re: Radius timeout - Ver 6.44

Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:33 pm

So why dont you just install 6.44.5 and test, inst5ead of "rolling" back to older version??

Also, you just post here "it is not working", not providing any configs, or packet captures, or anything. so you should not expect much in return
MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCRE & MTCINE
 
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm

Re: Radius timeout - Ver 6.44

Fri Sep 27, 2019 10:00 pm

we have same problem on CHR
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 74 guests