Community discussions

ksthree
just joined
Topic Author

Firewall killing NAT rule

Thu Jul 18, 2019 11:09 pm

Let me start by introducing myself.

My name is Karl, and I am from South Africa. I am a seasoned Mikrotik installer/programmer/whatever I can get it to do guy. I have been referring back to these forums often for help when I start scratching my head, so thanks to all of you for the bits of info that point me in the right direction when I hit my head on a wall.

I have created a Firewall Filter that blocks incoming ports 1-1024, however I have added a backdoor rule in the NAT section to use port xxxx to point to Port 80 on 192.168.x.x on Ether2.

My NAT rule works fine, until I enable any the Firewall Filter rule. Then it dies. I still have access to Port 80 on 192.168.1.1 from any of my four subnets on Eth2-5.

Here are my rules...

NAT:
/ip firewall nat
add chain=dst-nat protocol=tcp dst-port=xxxx in-interface=PPPoE action=dst-nat to-address=192.168.1.1 to-port=80

This rule works fine to port forward xxxx to 192.168.1.1:80 on Eth2

FILTER:
/ip firewall filter
add chain=input protocol=tcp dst-port=1-1024 in-interface=PPPoE action=reject

This rule is blocking all incoming connections on ports 1-1024.

Together, the NAT rule fails.

Any ideas?

sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Firewall killing NAT rule

Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:35 pm

Filter comes after dst-nat. 192.168.1.1, which is the destination address of the packet after the dst-nat has been done, is one of local addresses of your Mikrotik, so chain=input of /ip firewall filter is used. The dst-nat rule only redirects the packet (changes its destination address and/or port), but that alone doesn't mean that it would bypass the filter. So one possibility is to add connection-state=!dstnat to your action=reject rule in /ip firewall filter.