Community discussions

 
rd228
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 12:13 pm

RB2011UiAS-RM - High CPU on Download

Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:06 pm

Hi all,

Looking for some help here as im now stuck after trying a few suggestions on the forums.

I am using a RB2011UiAS-RM with BT Fibre to the premises broadband. I have just upgraded from 50 down 10 up to 150 down 30 up.

My upload speeds are reaching 30mbps fine. My downloads however are fluctuating between 80/90mbps and wont go much higher. Looking at my CPU during the download when running a speed test its running at a constant 99/100%. I'm guessing this is going to be the restriction on why it wont go above 90 for a download?

Anything I can try to resolve this problem? Can post my config if required.

Thanks
Ross
 
User avatar
sebastia
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1790
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Antwerp, BE

Re: RB2011UiAS-RM - High CPU on Download

Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:27 pm

Hi

Do you have the latest version of ROS? If not upgrade.

Do you have any special configuration? I would suggest to perform a factory reset to default config for homeAP. This config can do 800+ out of the box.
 
freemannnn
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 669
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:29 pm

Re: RB2011UiAS-RM - High CPU on Download

Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:53 pm

Turn on fasttrack rule in ip firewall filter
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1110
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB2011UiAS-RM - High CPU on Download

Fri Jul 19, 2019 6:00 pm

Hate to be the one to ask.

Your WAN port is in 1-5 not 6-10? Only 1-5 are Gigabit.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
rd228
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 12:13 pm

Re: RB2011UiAS-RM - High CPU on Download

Fri Jul 19, 2019 8:38 pm

To answer all of your questions -

I havent got fast track enabled. I think I decided a while ago not to turn it on as it stops some other things working in the router when its enabled that I currently used at the time.

I am on the latest version, and my WAN port is in port 1 which is connected to a PPPoE interface in the router.
 
rd228
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 12:13 pm

Re: RB2011UiAS-RM - High CPU on Download

Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:06 pm

I also know its not my firewall rules as I have disabled them all and tried another speed test.
 
User avatar
sebastia
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1790
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Antwerp, BE

Re: RB2011UiAS-RM - High CPU on Download

Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:14 am

2011 is not that powerful (cpu-wise), but it shouldn't be as bad
See https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BMNoRJ4Wy3E

There were some topic regarding 2011 throughput, have a look.
Also not that FastTrack can be enabled selectively, it's not all-or-nothing switch.

Finally, if you need more input, post your config + network topology.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 89 guests