Community discussions

 
adrcomms
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:58 am
Contact:

Backup config for bulk deployment

Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:12 pm

Hi Guys

Been using TIK for a very long time as core devices.

But we are just moving over to using hAP lite routers for customers, I have made a backup of the config with a limited webfig menu for the customers etc to make setup up routers fast fro the engineers

i made a backup and then started to deploy this on multiple TIK's, dragging the config and the skin, i have found the mac address of the Ethernet ports are being cloned over, i have to then go in the router and reset the MACs , is there a way to stop this? Also the backup does not keep the customers skin in the group it drops back to default?

Adrian
 
User avatar
Exiver
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:45 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Backup config for bulk deployment

Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:32 pm

How do these Backups look like? If you have set mac addresses on bridges or interfaces manually these will be exported (and imported) as well. You could either remove those entries (/interface ethernet ...) from your backups or reset the ports automatically after you have imported the backup via a script (on linux you could use parallel ssh). Are the old and new routers on the same firmware? I would suggest you to do these kind of things only on the same software package version.
 
adrcomms
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:58 am
Contact:

Re: Backup config for bulk deployment

Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:37 pm

they are all new routers and l'l running the same and latest fw, the config is a basic home ap setup

Anyway thanks for your help, i will continue just reseting the macs manually

Adrian

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 63 guests