Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
18473829
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:55 pm

CenturyLink IPoE (no PPPoE)

Sun Sep 08, 2019 5:05 pm

Hello,
I am new to Mikrotik.

I have CenturyLink Fiber Internet with PrismTV. I am trying to setup my new Mikrotik router as the main router, but i do not have PPPOE credentials because PrismTV uses IPoE.
In the past I've used Asus/Netgear as primary routers by doing Automatic IP while tagging VLAN 201 to the WAN port and it worked. How can i do this with Mikrotik?

Sorry for my ignorance, i am new and giving this side of Networking a try.

Thanks
 
JonathanYoung2161
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 4:46 am
Location: Iowa

Re: CenturyLink IPoE (no PPPoE)

Sun Dec 01, 2019 9:19 pm

Did you get this figured out?
JonathanYoung2161
 
sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4191
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: CenturyLink IPoE (no PPPoE)

Sun Dec 01, 2019 9:57 pm

If it was sufficient to assign an automatic IP address when using the other gear, and as Mikrotik doesn't support the "automatic IP address assignment" as such, I would generate one from the interface's MAC address manually, taking the last two bytes of the MAC address and using their decadic value as x and y in the 169.254.x.y/16 address assigned to the /interface vlan vlan-id=201 used for the TV.
Instead of writing novels, post /export hide-sensitive. Use find&replace in your favourite text editor to systematically replace all occurrences of each public IP address potentially identifying you by a distinctive pattern such as my.public.ip.1.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 57 guests