Community discussions

 
xocolate
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:56 pm

PWR-LINE PRO

Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:49 am

Hi all!
Couple of days ago i bought a pair of PWR-LINE PRO. Install and sync - ok. But after some time (30m-1h) network connectivity between Routers(HexPOE) are lost (or huge and missing pings).
PWR-LINE PRO - in Sync state, LED is ON, Routers port are UP and 1000G FD negotiated. But no RX/TX.
So if i power off one of PWR-LINE PRO device and power on again - connectivity become OK, but for 30m-1h.. What's gonna be ?

Thanks.
 
xocolate
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:56 pm

Re: PWR-LINE PRO

Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:29 pm

The main problem is - how to do diagnostics?
PWR-LINE Pro - has no management interfaces, no IP, etc.
 
kristsd
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 12:30 pm
Location: Riga

Re: PWR-LINE PRO

Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:35 pm

You could try to re-link both of the devices.
Hold 5 – 8 seconds. A new security key is generated. This is needed to remove a PWR-LINE PRO device from an existing PWR network.
after that, re-link -
Hold 0.5 – 3 seconds. For 120 seconds will try to communicate with another PWR-LINE PRO device.
 
xocolate
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:56 pm

Re: PWR-LINE PRO

Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:39 pm

You could try to re-link both of the devices.
Hold 5 – 8 seconds. A new security key is generated. This is needed to remove a PWR-LINE PRO device from an existing PWR network.
after that, re-link -
Hold 0.5 – 3 seconds. For 120 seconds will try to communicate with another PWR-LINE PRO device.
Already do this. Even more - Hold 8-15 sec and reset both devices. And than sync them - same issue.

Is there any "Powerline AV Utility" for Mikrotik ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24133
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: PWR-LINE PRO

Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:48 pm

Those devices have no software (no OS), so this is the reason why you can't connect to them and there is no "utility".
Did you try to connect them to other outlets, to put them closer to each other?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
xocolate
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:56 pm

Re: PWR-LINE PRO

Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:51 pm

Those devices have no software (no OS), so this is the reason why you can't connect to them and there is no "utility".
Did you try to connect them to other outlets, to put them closer to each other?
i will try this later today. but if the problem in wire why LED "Sync" are ON?

i know that they have no OS, but other vendors provide utility to remote FW upgrade/diagnostic.
 
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2936
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: PWR-LINE PRO

Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:11 pm

Are they plugged directly into the wall (not via power bars etc)??
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
 
xocolate
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:56 pm

Re: PWR-LINE PRO

Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:43 am

Are they plugged directly into the wall (not via power bars etc)??
Thru couple of 16A automatic switches and DIN attached outlets. Cable length ~50m.

Yesterday i put first PWR-LINE PRO closer to second one - without 16A auto switches and cable length - 10m . For now connection looks stable.
So my problem looks solved for now.

http://prntscr.com/p4lngc
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: PWR-LINE PRO

Wed Sep 11, 2019 11:25 am

Automatic fuses/switches are killing powerline. Same as wireless through reinforced concrete.
Parallel cable runs help somewhat ... as does a window in that concrete wall for wireless.
BR,
Metod
 
xocolate
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:56 pm

Re: PWR-LINE PRO

Wed Sep 11, 2019 2:36 pm

Automatic fuses/switches are killing powerline. Same as wireless through reinforced concrete.
Parallel cable runs help somewhat ... as does a window in that concrete wall for wireless.
I think "Wago" is a root cause in my case

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 67 guests