Community discussions

 
sebnx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 5:25 pm

disable root bridge

Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:29 am

Hello,

I use Mikrotik routers on our network in order to be able to do bandwidth tests (BTest).

If I connect the Mikrotik on a Netonix, the switch pass the port in "forwarding root" and the Mikrotik becomes Root Bridge ID...

To disable the root bridge I did the following action on the Mikrotik : Bridge > Ports select "Interface > all"
Bridge Port <all> and selected yes on Edge selector.

Is this the right method ??
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: disable root bridge

Wed Sep 11, 2019 11:21 am

"root bridge" is a feature of xSTP. If RB in question can not create any loops (e.g. it only has one connection to the rest of network), then you can disable xSTP entirely:
/interface bridge
set [ find protocol-mode!=none ] protocol-mode=none
BR,
Metod
 
sebnx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 5:25 pm

Re: disable root bridge

Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:35 pm

The Mikrotik has only one port plugged into the Netonix switch. Other Mikrotik ports are disabled !

Thanks mkx for the command :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 61 guests