Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Out via 1 gateway & in Via another

Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:03 am

Hello

If I send all my data out to one ISP & have most of it comming back via another (BGP) will that cause any problems?

Both ISP's have filters open for my IP range.

The reason is on is faster up the other is faster down.

Thanks :-)
 
Diganet
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Out via 1 gateway & in Via another

Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:38 am

Hello

If I send all my data out to one ISP & have most of it comming back via another (BGP) will that cause any problems?

Both ISP's have filters open for my IP range.

The reason is on is faster up the other is faster down.

Thanks :-)
In theory it shouldn't matter as long as the latency on the lines are similar. I have however experienced lots of problems with especially latency with customers complaining of high pings etc.. Other places i have used a dual-link configuration to simulate full duplex by routing incoming to one link and outgoing to another with good success.. You can try it but if you get complains about mysterious issues on your net this is propably the reason why. Another issue is, that if (when) one link fails, everything fails..

Regards

/Henrik
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:59 am

Thanks!

On another note, my whole network is in a ring, I was thinking like you to be able to get full duplex, I may try one day, its ospf enabled so will be fun!

:-)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: codesnake, hngjared, ivanfm, MSN [Bot], realtime and 96 guests