Page 1 of 1

OSPF - default static route not redistributed

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 6:01 pm
by firebat
Network Config:
- All routers running 2.9.41 and OSPF.
- Static Default route only configured on gateway router and is exchanged with neighbors.

Issue: Default route not sent to neighbors after reboot:
1. Rebooted the gateway router and it came up and showed correct neighbors and routes in its routing table.
2. Neighbor routers received all routes from gateway router except the default route. Thus, no internet connectivity

Rebooted the gateway router once again and then the default route was sent to the neighbor routers.

Questions:
1. Has anyone else seen this issue?
2. Are folks redistributing state routes as type1 ?
3. Are folks hardcoding router IDs in the OSPF settings or letting it pick the highest numbered interface?

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:07 pm
by mrz
Try upgrading to latest version as there are some routing fixes. Probably this will fix your issue.

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:27 pm
by firebat
they fixed something in 2.9.42 from 2.9.41? There is nothing in the changelog about OSPF fixes.

MT folks, any comments?

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:40 pm
by mrz
why are you so afraid of new version? just upgrade and you will see fixed or not.

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:24 pm
by firebat
If they fixed something in OSPF, it should be in the change log. I don't want to deploy new SW and have something else break. Its flaky enough as is. The fixlist disparity from 2.9.41 to 2.9.42 has nothing noted about OSPF fixes.

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:49 am
by janisk
try disabling that static route and see how long does it take to update other router.

route update might take some time. :roll: maybe that is the problem, also you could check in logs (firs turn on logging for ospf) what is happening if you again encounter situation when static route is not redistributed

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:55 am
by firebat
Thanks Janisk. It was like this for more than an hour before we found out that customers couldn't get to the internet. Before restarting the gateway router, I restarted two neighbor routers to see if that would trigger the gateway router to restribute the static default but it didn't. All of the dynamic routes made it OK.

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 4:55 pm
by GWISA
I have seen similar problems with OSPF and redistribution of static and connected routes not updating.

Often the only way I can get it to work is to delete all the OSPF rules, and then re-program them using a script. If I delete the rules and redo them using Winbox, nothing changes, but re-programming with a script 'magically' fixes the problem.... !

v 2.9.42

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:03 pm
by Smith
I had problems with OSPF when i was using CM9 and enabled compression. Routes were not distributing at all. After disabling CM9 compression (and losing 1mbps of bandwidth :( ) everything works :(