Community discussions

 
Bi11
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 5:34 pm

RB4011iGS+ occasionally become inaccessible

Sun Sep 29, 2019 5:56 pm

I've an issue with newly purchased RB4011iGS+. It occasionally become inaccessible.

It happened twice, today and two or three months ago. When it happens,
- Inaccessible via ssh, winbox, www.
- Only responds to ICMP ping.
- RSTP is not working.
- Logging to file is stopped.
- Other services seems working (including Bonding, EoIP tunnel, IP NAT).

I can't reproduce the issue.
- The load is very light. Based on graph, CPU < 2%, Memory < 64M.
- The temperature is below 40C.
- This time the version is 6.44.5, the last time is 6.45.5 or 6.45.6.
- After a reboot, it's back to normal. There is no strange log before the log stops.

I've connected a loop with this RB4011 and two switches (CSS326-24G-2S+ and Unifi US‑8‑150W). When this issue happens, a broadcast storm is generated from RB4011. The storm can be stopped by disconnect the loop manually (unplug the cable, or disable ports on switch) , but RB4011 is still inaccessible. If I directly connect any two ports (under same bridge) on RB4011, it also causes the broadcast storm, which should not be happened in a normal condition, with RSTP protocol enabled.

Autosupout.rif was generated automatically shortly after the log was stopped. Maybe it already knows something.
autosupout.rif.zip
supout.rif was generated after I rebooted the RB4011.
supout.rif.zip
I hope the supout files are helpful.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Zacharias
Member
Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: RB4011iGS+ occasionally become inaccessible

Sun Sep 29, 2019 6:50 pm

If I directly connect any two ports (under same bridge) on RB4011, it also causes the broadcast storm, which should not be happened in a normal condition, with RSTP protocol enabled.
Well am not really sure about that... most probably i think its normal to happen.

But...Why you have such a loop in your network? :shock:
 
Miracle
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:04 am

Re: RB4011iGS+ occasionally become inaccessible

Sun Sep 29, 2019 7:09 pm

They are troubles when use Realtek / MediaTek switch.

Try shorter cable ?
 
Bi11
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 5:34 pm

Re: RB4011iGS+ occasionally become inaccessible

Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:04 pm

The most important is that RB4011 became inaccessible and only the power reset can bring it back.

I don't know why and I can't reproduce the issue on demand, maybe the loop, maybe not.
 
Miracle
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:04 am

Re: RB4011iGS+ occasionally become inaccessible

Thu Oct 10, 2019 4:23 am

Use watchdog it will auto reboot (if it not work try disable interface on otherside).
 
Zacharias
Member
Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: RB4011iGS+ occasionally become inaccessible

Thu Oct 10, 2019 4:05 pm

Watchdog will auto reboot the device only if its unresponsive for a minute...
By default it is enabled.. so since it doesn't auto reboot then the device is not frozen....
 
Bi11
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 5:34 pm

Re: RB4011iGS+ occasionally become inaccessible

Tue Oct 15, 2019 5:53 pm

automatic-supout: yes
watchdog-timer: no

The autosupout.rif file was generated, so it did have a software failure.
autosupout.rif is over 400kb but it shows only a few content in supout.rif reader (mikrotik website), most of them is 'died with signal 6'.

Watchdog is disabled in my current settings. I've enabled it now. Hope it can catch the failure.

Thank you all.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests