Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
hroubaix
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 3:45 pm

Loosing PPTP and PPPoE Coneections

Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:19 am

I'm running a central MT router with two wireless cards in it. One side it connects to a range of other MT routers creating a hotzone, and on the otherside it links up to one of my other networks which is configured in the same way. Inside each "hotzone" I've got several DSL lines connected to the sub beacan and I've created a PPPoE connection to the internet. From the main MT router I use a pppoe server to do authentication for my clients and I create a PPTP tunnel to each sub beacan which have the DSL. From the main beacan I load balance between the PPTP links as breakout points. The problem I'm having is that the main beacan will loose it's PPTP and PPPoE connections to the sub beacons. When I say loose, it's as they have been deleted from the system. Firewall rules turn red, routing goes blue and so forth. The funny thing is, that my users can still authenticate with is happening from a remote radius server. For the router to see the radius server, it needs internet connectivety, but all the connections to DSL lines are gone. So you can authenticate, but not browse or anything. If you reboot the router, all is fine again. Could anyone please help me on this.

Thank you,
Hannes
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:40 am

what version do you use? and how many tunnels do you have?
 
hroubaix
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 3:45 pm

Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:20 am

I use version 2.9.41 and there is about 4 tunnels out, and about 60 tunnels in, but only the out tunnels dissapear
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:44 am

so, when you use your RouterOS box ad pptp client it disconnects after some time, and you are not able to connect this connection again?
 
hroubaix
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 3:45 pm

Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:51 am

It doesn't disconnects, its gone! As if it were deleted. Even in the firewall rules, the interface reference is unknown. But when I reboot, it's back. It must be some sort of bug.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:54 am

please try to do that in 2.9.42 and check if behavior changes
 
hroubaix
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 3:45 pm

Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:30 am

I've upgraded the router to 2.9.42. Lets see how it behaves now.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 114 guests