Community discussions

MikroTik App

immateriale
just joined
Topic Author

SSH access to default Gateway (Mikrotik) thru secondary gateway (non Mikrotik) port forwarding

Tue Oct 01, 2019 5:16 pm

Hi,

i’m a novice in Mikrotik router configuration, i need to access my Mikrotik default Gateway, using SSH thru another router with 22 port forwarding. Mikrotik (default gateway) and Fritz (secondary gateway are both connected in LAN.

Port forwarding works but i think that replay to the traffic goes to default gateway and not to secondary,

Someone has a solution?

Thanks a lot
Manu

Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: SSH access to default Gateway (Mikrotik) thru secondary gateway (non Mikrotik) port forwarding

Tue Oct 01, 2019 6:25 pm

You don't need to port forward anything. They are just two directly connected routers.
If you want to access a router behind another router then use its wan IP.
As simple as that.

immateriale
just joined
Topic Author

Re: SSH access to default Gateway (Mikrotik) thru secondary gateway (non Mikrotik) port forwarding

Tue Oct 01, 2019 7:47 pm

Sorry, but i need to connect via ssh to router2 when router1 pppoe hang-up, so i've opened on router2 2222 ext-port to 22 int-port on router1,
i do ssh to router2 ip port:2222, i'm expecting to go via terminal to router1 and perform a reboot or other troubleshooting operation,

bur as it is, it didn't work,

can you help me?

BR
You don't need to port forward anything. They are just two directly connected routers.
If you want to access a router behind another router then use its wan IP.
As simple as that.

Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Tue Oct 01, 2019 8:19 pm

Just use the WAN IP of the router you want to SSH to. As i already told you , they are directly connected routers. No need to portforward anything.

immateriale
just joined
Topic Author

Tue Oct 01, 2019 11:04 pm

Sorry, i can’t be able to explain what i need: