Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
chris84
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: Vienna
Contact:

Uploadshaping with simple queues does not work

Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:14 pm

hi all,

I'm using a rb500 with mt router-os v3.0beta7.
It is configured as wlan-accesspoint. therefore eth1&wlan1 are configured as bridge.

the upstream is connected to eth1.
my problem is to shape the upload-speed of the clients which are logged in on interface wlan1

I tried http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/PCQ_Examples but nothing is shaped, here's my config.:
 queue type print
8 name="256_up" kind=pcq pcq-rate=256000 pcq-limit=50 pcq-classifier=src-address,dst-address pcq-total-limit=2000
here is a example queue but it doesn't work
queue simple print 
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic 
 0    name="queue1" target-addresses=192.168.5.10/32 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 interface=all parent=none direction=both priority=8 queue=256_up/wireless-default 
      limit-at=0/0 max-limit=0/0 total-queue=default-small
do you have any suggestions?

cheers
chris
 
Diganet
Member
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Uploadshaping with simple queues does not work

Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:52 pm

hi all,

I'm using a rb500 with mt router-os v3.0beta7.
It is configured as wlan-accesspoint. therefore eth1&wlan1 are configured as bridge.

the upstream is connected to eth1.
my problem is to shape the upload-speed of the clients which are logged in on interface wlan1

I tried http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/PCQ_Examples but nothing is shaped, here's my config.:
 queue type print
8 name="256_up" kind=pcq pcq-rate=256000 pcq-limit=50 pcq-classifier=src-address,dst-address pcq-total-limit=2000
here is a example queue but it doesn't work
queue simple print 
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic 
 0    name="queue1" target-addresses=192.168.5.10/32 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 interface=all parent=none direction=both priority=8 queue=256_up/wireless-default 
      limit-at=0/0 max-limit=0/0 total-queue=default-small
do you have any suggestions?

cheers
chris
Try downgrade to 2.9.42..

/Henrik
 
Smith
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:06 pm

Re: Uploadshaping with simple queues does not work

Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:18 pm

It is configured as wlan-accesspoint. therefore eth1&wlan1 are configured as bridge.
Bridge is not the only way to make it work. Try routing, shaping will work, trust me...
 
chris84
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: Vienna
Contact:

Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:27 am

Hi Smith,

the problem is that all wlan-accesspoints in our environment are configured as bridge, routing is done by cisco-routers.

Bridge is not the only way to make it work. Try routing, shaping will work, trust me...
does that mean that queues only work in routing-mode?
 
microlnk
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 5:54 pm

Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:07 pm

no you can do traffic shaping in brige mode
try setting the pcq-classifier to just src-address
 
Smith
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:06 pm

Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Hi Smith,

the problem is that all wlan-accesspoints in our environment are configured as bridge, routing is done by cisco-routers.

Bridge is not the only way to make it work. Try routing, shaping will work, trust me...
does that mean that queues only work in routing-mode?
I am not sure how shaping works in bridge mode, but generaly speaking bridge is bad. Routing gives you wider bandwidth. it doesn't matter if you have cisco router, noone stops you to make routing on every MT, and have cisco as main router.
 
chris84
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: Vienna
Contact:

Fri Apr 27, 2007 12:22 pm

I got it!

here's the solution:
/interface bridge settings set use-ip-firewall=yes

simple as that :lol:

now the queues are working in bridge mode

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BartoszP, Bing [Bot], cyb, jprietove, mikisux and 210 guests