Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ilius168
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:54 am

Split UpStream & Downstream

Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:11 pm

Hi, how do i split up stream to gateway1 and downstream to gateway2...
Thx :)
 
Smith
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:06 pm

Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:41 pm

I don't think it is possible without BGP. If you send a packet to some server and start TCP connection that server will send back his packets same way the requesting packets came.
On the other hand. Let's say that i am staring connection with your server and am coming to your gateway 2 (your downstream gateway). You are using gateway 1 to answear to me, different IP. My server tries to find existing connection from your IP and he can't find it. Packet will be droped, connection will not be established.
 
ilius168
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:54 am

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Sun Jul 15, 2007 7:11 am

Dear Smith,
I believe there's way can be done, as some isp' do use DVB which is one way only (downstream) while upstream via FO or other method.

How can we do it with MT?

my current setup is:

SAT
|
MT-------- Clients
|
FO
 
User avatar
winxp2000
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: China
Contact:

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:39 pm

It is impossible.

As the fellow said above, the TCP packet need back way from out way.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:19 am

I do this but you need BGP (or your ISP's help)

Filteres need to be open for both ISP's for your IP Range

ISP 1 Filter open set at your default gateway (send)
ISP 2 Filter open and advertise your IP's (receive)

With this setup I have turned 4m/4m shdsl and a 8Meg/300k ADSL into a single 8meg/4Meg connection :-)
 
ilius168
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:54 am

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:54 am

I do this but you need BGP (or your ISP's help)

Filteres need to be open for both ISP's for your IP Range
What if the ISP is not friendly with BGP ? :-(
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Mon Jul 16, 2007 2:01 am

I do this but you need BGP (or your ISP's help)

Filteres need to be open for both ISP's for your IP Range
What if the ISP is not friendly with BGP ? :-(
Your Screwed... :-(
 
JR
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:27 am

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:45 pm

Your SAT provider should be able to help.

Create a tunnel (via FO) to SAT provider, this will be for upstream, OR get an IP from SAT provider and use it as your source (out interface) IP (so the only route back will be via SAT DVB).

Downstream via DVB IP (set by SAT provider)
 
ilius168
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:54 am

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Wed Jul 18, 2007 2:57 am

Your Screwed... :-(

That i know... thanks!

Good answer though, mate!! :P
 
JR
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:27 am

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Mon Jul 23, 2007 9:12 pm

Your SAT provider should be able to help.
If you place a bag under de mango tree, will mangoes fall into it?
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:47 pm

if the FO would allow your customer subnet through their source-filters (or if they are too ignorant to have any), you should be able to do this without any active routing protocols. Then you would just need to do default route one way and let the returning traffic come the other way.
If you NAT your customers then this could prove more tricky but not impossible. The key is the FO's source filters.
 
ilius168
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:54 am

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:10 pm

if the FO would allow your customer subnet through their source-filters (or if they are too ignorant to have any), you should be able to do this without any active routing protocols. Then you would just need to do default route one way and let the returning traffic come the other way.
If you NAT your customers then this could prove more tricky but not impossible. The key is the FO's source filters.
got any idea how to do this in MT? anyone?
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Mon Aug 20, 2007 7:08 pm

yes, set your default gateway to the FO port. Make sure all outbound connections, DNS entries, etc, specify your SAT connections IP address. Basically advertise the IP you want them to come in on, and send them out whichever way you want with the default gateway. You will probably end up using src-nat to stick the SAT ip on the outbound traffic if required. Just hope your sat provider doesn't do BCP38; which they should be really - if your not on your network then your helping spoof ips in ddos attacks
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Mon Aug 20, 2007 8:29 pm

Let's hope they have, and if they have, then simply ask them to add your subnet(s) to their ingress filters.
Always filter the source address of your customers (it will help you sleep at night).
 
User avatar
t3rm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:57 pm
Location: Bandung - WJ - Indonesia

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:13 pm

It is POSSIBLE to do it without you having interfere with the BGP option since the BGP is in ISP side.
Once you get ip addresses from your ISP, of course packets from everywhere around the world would come to your side from your ISP.

But for the packets leaving your side, can be choose which gateway to forward it through. Either with the gateway IP of the ISP or the other gateway of other ISP.
As long as the other upstream ISP open their upstream filter and let your IP address from your ISP , pass through.

- Rio.Martin -

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 119 guests