Page 1 of 1

Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:11 pm
by ilius168
Hi, how do i split up stream to gateway1 and downstream to gateway2...
Thx :)

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:41 pm
by Smith
I don't think it is possible without BGP. If you send a packet to some server and start TCP connection that server will send back his packets same way the requesting packets came.
On the other hand. Let's say that i am staring connection with your server and am coming to your gateway 2 (your downstream gateway). You are using gateway 1 to answear to me, different IP. My server tries to find existing connection from your IP and he can't find it. Packet will be droped, connection will not be established.

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 7:11 am
by ilius168
Dear Smith,
I believe there's way can be done, as some isp' do use DVB which is one way only (downstream) while upstream via FO or other method.

How can we do it with MT?

my current setup is:

SAT
|
MT-------- Clients
|
FO

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:39 pm
by winxp2000
It is impossible.

As the fellow said above, the TCP packet need back way from out way.

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:19 am
by Equis
I do this but you need BGP (or your ISP's help)

Filteres need to be open for both ISP's for your IP Range

ISP 1 Filter open set at your default gateway (send)
ISP 2 Filter open and advertise your IP's (receive)

With this setup I have turned 4m/4m shdsl and a 8Meg/300k ADSL into a single 8meg/4Meg connection :-)

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:54 am
by ilius168
I do this but you need BGP (or your ISP's help)

Filteres need to be open for both ISP's for your IP Range
What if the ISP is not friendly with BGP ? :-(

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 2:01 am
by Equis
I do this but you need BGP (or your ISP's help)

Filteres need to be open for both ISP's for your IP Range
What if the ISP is not friendly with BGP ? :-(
Your Screwed... :-(

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:45 pm
by JR
Your SAT provider should be able to help.

Create a tunnel (via FO) to SAT provider, this will be for upstream, OR get an IP from SAT provider and use it as your source (out interface) IP (so the only route back will be via SAT DVB).

Downstream via DVB IP (set by SAT provider)

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 2:57 am
by ilius168
Your Screwed... :-(

That i know... thanks!

Good answer though, mate!! :P

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 9:12 pm
by JR
Your SAT provider should be able to help.
If you place a bag under de mango tree, will mangoes fall into it?

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:47 pm
by sten
if the FO would allow your customer subnet through their source-filters (or if they are too ignorant to have any), you should be able to do this without any active routing protocols. Then you would just need to do default route one way and let the returning traffic come the other way.
If you NAT your customers then this could prove more tricky but not impossible. The key is the FO's source filters.

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:10 pm
by ilius168
if the FO would allow your customer subnet through their source-filters (or if they are too ignorant to have any), you should be able to do this without any active routing protocols. Then you would just need to do default route one way and let the returning traffic come the other way.
If you NAT your customers then this could prove more tricky but not impossible. The key is the FO's source filters.
got any idea how to do this in MT? anyone?

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 7:08 pm
by changeip
yes, set your default gateway to the FO port. Make sure all outbound connections, DNS entries, etc, specify your SAT connections IP address. Basically advertise the IP you want them to come in on, and send them out whichever way you want with the default gateway. You will probably end up using src-nat to stick the SAT ip on the outbound traffic if required. Just hope your sat provider doesn't do BCP38; which they should be really - if your not on your network then your helping spoof ips in ddos attacks

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 8:29 pm
by sten
Let's hope they have, and if they have, then simply ask them to add your subnet(s) to their ingress filters.
Always filter the source address of your customers (it will help you sleep at night).

Re: Split UpStream & Downstream

Posted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:13 pm
by t3rm
It is POSSIBLE to do it without you having interfere with the BGP option since the BGP is in ISP side.
Once you get ip addresses from your ISP, of course packets from everywhere around the world would come to your side from your ISP.

But for the packets leaving your side, can be choose which gateway to forward it through. Either with the gateway IP of the ISP or the other gateway of other ISP.
As long as the other upstream ISP open their upstream filter and let your IP address from your ISP , pass through.

- Rio.Martin -