Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Mrdude
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:07 pm

IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:04 pm

Good day.
In RB2011 in the PPP profile I specify for L2TP I specify the Use Encryption parameter. But the connection is not encrypted, for what reason can this happen?
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1363
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 13, 2019 3:52 pm

How can you tell its not encrypted?
 
Mrdude
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:07 pm

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 13, 2019 4:07 pm

How can you tell its not encrypted?
PPP - Active Conections - Column Encoding is empty when i disable IPsec.But there should be MPPE128 stateless.
 
r00t
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 13, 2019 4:10 pm

Use packet sniffer to sniff start of the PPP connection, then load it into Wireshark. There you will see what protocols and features are negotiated and how (if it's turning of the MPPE128, you will see why, if it's client or server that does that).
But if your PPP profile requires encryption, link should be either encrypted or not connected at all (fails to connect).
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1363
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:22 pm

Enable to your client to require encryption and see if it connects.. if not, then yes it does not use encryption...
 
Mrdude
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:07 pm

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:40 pm

Enable to your client to require encryption and see if it connects.. if not, then yes it does not use encryption...
It is activated, why RB2011 do not use it?
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1363
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:35 pm

If its activated and you can connect then obviously uses it...
 
Mrdude
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:07 pm

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 13, 2019 9:16 pm

If its activated and you can connect then obviously uses it...
Last edited by Mrdude on Thu Oct 24, 2019 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
r00t
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 13, 2019 9:22 pm

That looks like a bug, that field should say something.
Also if you switch it to Required, it will not connect unless encrypted.
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1363
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 13, 2019 9:35 pm

R00t is right.. is your client configured to connect only if encryption is used?
 
Mrdude
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:07 pm

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:29 am

R00t is right.. is your client configured to connect only if encryption is used?

Please explain what it means "right"? Its settings indicate the use of encryption.
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1363
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 20, 2019 11:19 am

As i said in my previous post, if the client is configured to only connect if there is encryption, then since you can connect the encyprion is used...
 
Mrdude
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:07 pm

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 20, 2019 11:35 am

As i said in my previous post, if the client is configured to only connect if there is encryption, then since you can connect the encyprion is used...
It is obvious. But, how do I find out why encryption is not turned on if its use is indicated in the profile?
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1363
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 20, 2019 11:38 am

Are you sure your client device connects only if there is encryption?
 
Mrdude
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:07 pm

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 20, 2019 11:41 am

Are you sure your client device connects only if there is encryption?
Yes, without encryption, disconnection occurs.
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1363
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 20, 2019 12:10 pm

Then maybe you should contact mikrotik support...
 
McSee
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:28 pm

its use is indicated in the profile?
Set it to required.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Mrdude
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:07 pm

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 20, 2019 11:10 pm

its use is indicated in the profile?
Set it to required.
Last edited by Mrdude on Thu Oct 24, 2019 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1363
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Sun Oct 20, 2019 11:58 pm

Mrdude go to the active connections tab, double click the connected client and see if the encryption is mentioned there...
 
Mrdude
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:07 pm

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Mon Oct 21, 2019 12:16 am

Mrdude go to the active connections tab, double click the connected client and see if the encryption is mentioned there...
Last edited by Mrdude on Thu Oct 24, 2019 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1363
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Mon Oct 21, 2019 12:17 am

So there it is... :lol:
 
Mrdude
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:07 pm

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?

Mon Oct 21, 2019 12:23 am

So there it is... :lol:
This customer. which can connect, with mandatory encryption. Kopazany at first can not.
 
Mrdude
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:07 pm

Re: IN v6.45.6 L2TP not use MPPE 128 ?  [SOLVED]

Thu Oct 24, 2019 10:10 pm

Thanks to everyone, the issue is resolved.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abjaterza and 57 guests