Community discussions

 
rexilafa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:39 pm

Internet access on static IP without PPPoE

Sat Nov 02, 2019 4:12 pm

Hi!
Have a little doubt. On a PPPoE server setup, why the mikrotik allows internet access on static ip range (without pppoe user and password)?
Can't figure out where you can enable or disable this.
 
User avatar
ingdaka
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 3:06 pm
Location: Albania
Contact:

Re: Internet access on static IP without PPPoE

Sat Nov 02, 2019 6:14 pm

Please post your config and idea what you want to do!
Ilir Daka
Electronic & Network Engineer
E-mail: ilirdaka@live.com
Mob: +355692982151
WhatsApp: +355692982151
Mikrotik Official Consultant
CCNA | Fortinet NSE3 | MTCRE | MTCSE
 
rexilafa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:39 pm

Re: Internet access on static IP without PPPoE

Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:54 pm

Hi!
I want to disable internet access without PPPoE.
I have eth1 on WAN and eth2 as PPPoE server. Eth2 IP of mikrotik it's 192.168.5.1. If I configure any PC that access through eth2 on 192.168.5.0/24 IP range I have internet access without using PPPoE and I want to disable this.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3177
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Internet access on static IP without PPPoE

Fri Nov 08, 2019 7:45 pm

I don't think you need IP address on eth2 at all ... PPPoE works directly on ethernet layer (PPPoE is ethertype 0x8863 and 0x8864 ... IPv4 is ethertype 0x0800 and IPv6 is ethertype 0x86DD).

No IP on interface ... no routing through that interface. As simple as that.
BR,
Metod
 
User avatar
ingdaka
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 3:06 pm
Location: Albania
Contact:

Re: Internet access on static IP without PPPoE

Sat Nov 09, 2019 2:52 pm

PPPoE works in L2 so you don't need an IP on the interface! I use an specific /32 IP on an Virtual LoopBack Interface (bridge interface without any port on it). And just create a pool for clients that don't have any relation to this subnet. PPPoE works very well one /32 subnets!
Ilir Daka
Electronic & Network Engineer
E-mail: ilirdaka@live.com
Mob: +355692982151
WhatsApp: +355692982151
Mikrotik Official Consultant
CCNA | Fortinet NSE3 | MTCRE | MTCSE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 103 guests