Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
danz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:07 am

RouterBOARD 962UiGS-5HacT2HnT + GPS

Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:14 am

Hi all, i am running a RouterBOARD 962UiGS-5HacT2HnT with a u-blox 7 GPS running router os 6.46 B59
and having major issues getting the gps to work on this router.. the GPS WAS working in a really old routerboard but since putting it into the 962UiGS it simply fails to lock to locations

see attachment for what i am seeing
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3754
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: RouterBOARD 962UiGS-5HacT2HnT + GPS

Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:55 am

Is the GPS module really using internal antenna? Likely this prevents it from getting a fix ... try to attach external GPS antenna and see if that fixes the issue.
BR,
Metod
 
danz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:07 am

Re: RouterBOARD 962UiGS-5HacT2HnT + GPS

Mon Nov 04, 2019 4:56 pm

There is no antenna socket I can see, as mentioned it had been working in a really old MT router
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3754
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: RouterBOARD 962UiGS-5HacT2HnT + GPS

Mon Nov 04, 2019 5:11 pm

You may have it working in old RB, but if GPS module gets oriented in different direction (e.g. upside down or on the other side of circuit board), then built-in GPS antenna might not receive GPS signals ...
BR,
Metod
 
danz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:07 am

Re: RouterBOARD 962UiGS-5HacT2HnT + GPS

Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:13 pm

Same orientation , the strange bit is if I change the port speed over and over it can come to life with a really good lock until the device is rebooted then its back to the same. The unit is in clear sky and in open
 
Znevna
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 1:04 pm

Re: RouterBOARD 962UiGS-5HacT2HnT + GPS

Mon Nov 04, 2019 10:47 pm

Dumb question, but did the old router had WiFi? If it didn't, did you try turning off both wlans on your hap ac to see if it helps? Something might interfere with the GPS signal.
LE: even the CPU's harmonic is pretty close.
720x2=1440 which is pretty close to 1575.42MHz. try lowering the CPU frequency too a little, for tests.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eworm, Filip92, Google [Bot], Huizhou, inteq, Maggiore81 and 46 guests