Page 1 of 1

APC Smart-UPS 620

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:33 pm
by toxie
Hi, i`m having a problem with this ups.Every time when I simulate the power failure, the router stops responding, when i plug back the ups to power network the router restarts itself.Settings are :
Port: serial0
Off Line Time : never
Min Run Time : 00:03:00
Alarm Setting : Immediate

Is it possible because on the status tab the Replace Battery is lit?
I`ve used a cable for that UPS, and i`ve made a cable like in Mikrotik manual.It has the same simptoms.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 1:05 am
by firebat
Is the battery dead and thus when you unplug it, there is no battery to power the router?

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 12:34 pm
by toxie
The battery is holding the power on 3 pc`s for 4-5 minutes.I can`t figure out why the router restarts itself when i replug the ups.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:49 pm
by firebat
It not plugged into one of the outlets that is surge protected only and not battery backed up? There are both on the unit. If you plug something else in like a small light, does it blink when you pull power?

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:58 pm
by toxie
It came to misunderstood.The pc connected with cable to ups restarts, the other ones which are connected to ups are working properly.That restart thing is becomming very annoying to me.When i remove the serial cable everything is ok, even if i pull out the UPS from AC.

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 11:27 pm
by firebat
Oh OK. So if you disconnect the serial cable between the UPS and the the PC running Router OS, it doesnt reboot.

Hopefully Mikrotik will pop in to provide some light.

I have always used mangement cards in the smartUPSs and manageme them via IP.

Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 1:02 am
by toxie
Exactly.

Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 1:29 pm
by tgrand
You need a proper APC cable.
You can build an adapter yourself.

I have come across pin diagrams in the past off the internet.
Try a search on google or yahoo etc.