Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
galimuna
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 1:27 pm
Location: Kosova / Prishtina / FilmCity
Contact:

Disable NetBIOS via DHCP Server

Tue Apr 24, 2007 3:53 pm

Hi,

I have a problem on my network... I use the MT DHCP Server on a subnet /22 and my bigest enemy now is Broadcast.
I want to know if there is an option on MT like it is on Windows DHCP to stop NetBIOS on clients through DHCP?

regards,
T.

p.s. Im using MT version 2.8.28
 
Stoned
newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:30 am
Location: Poland - Warsaw

Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:24 pm

hello,
this example comes from 2.9.x

add chain=forward protocol=tcp dst-port=135 action=drop comment="" disabled=no
add chain=forward protocol=tcp dst-port=137 action=drop comment="" disabled=no
add chain=forward protocol=tcp dst-port=138 action=drop comment="" disabled=no
add chain=forward protocol=tcp dst-port=139 action=drop comment="" disabled=no
add chain=forward protocol=tcp dst-port=445 action=drop comment="" disabled=no

regards,

Stoned.
 
User avatar
tneumann
Member
Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 6:38 pm
Location: Germany

Tue Apr 24, 2007 11:42 pm

Make sure you have a working WINS/NBNS server in place, then do something like this (adapt IP addresses to your network, of course)
/ ip dhcp-server option
add name="nb-node-type-P" code=46 value="2"

/ ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.10.0/24 gateway=192.168.10.1 wins-server=192.168.10.91 \
    domain="mynet.lan" dhcp-option=nb-node-type-P comment=""
( Note: You said you're using 2.8.28 - I don't know if any of this works with a version that old. You seriously need to update! )

--Tom
 
galimuna
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 1:27 pm
Location: Kosova / Prishtina / FilmCity
Contact:

Wed Apr 25, 2007 8:52 am

It would be perfect to update but I have a lot of Hotspot users and DHCP leases ... and I checked on the new versions that It doesnt support my hotspot accounts... and I am to lazy to re-add all of them : :oops:
Is there any possibility to do it on 2.8.x ?

regards,
T.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bpwl, eworm, frankko and 134 guests