Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
sdischer
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:58 pm

OSPF fails to redistribute default route after a reboot

Fri May 04, 2007 1:07 am

I have 10 MT routerboards participating in OSPF in a ring configuration. The Gateway router (GW) redistributes default as Type 1 and the other 9 get their default from the GW Router. If I reboot the GW router, OSPF routes continue to propogate throughout but the neighbors lose and do not get back their default from the GW router unless I disable the networks on the GW router's OSPF configuration and then reenable. I have confirmed this behavior with another local ISP running MT and they ar seeing the same thing. I am runing the routing package, not routing-test.
 
ptsip
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 7:17 pm

Fri May 04, 2007 5:03 am

As far as I know, you must using routing-test for stable OSPF.
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1818
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

OSPF is not stable

Fri May 04, 2007 8:20 am

Hi,

I´ve reported a Bug where Ospf looses neighbors and even reboot does
not help. (2.9.42 routing and routing-test). So you cant depend on it.
I`ve found myself testing and inserting static routes the whole night with
a broken network.
So be aware Ospf Implementation is beta quality at the moment.

Stefan
 
ptsip
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 7:17 pm

Fri May 04, 2007 8:56 am

have you tried with M/T ROS v3beta7?
 
User avatar
GWISA
Member
Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 2:37 pm
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: OSPF is not stable

Fri May 04, 2007 9:21 am

Hi,

I´ve reported a Bug where Ospf looses neighbors and even reboot does
not help. (2.9.42 routing and routing-test). So you cant depend on it.
I`ve found myself testing and inserting static routes the whole night with
a broken network.
So be aware Ospf Implementation is beta quality at the moment.

Stefan
Yep - Unfortunately we have seen the same - using OSPF but with static routes on all routers.

OSPF is just not stable at all...
 
User avatar
sdischer
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:58 pm

Fri May 04, 2007 3:00 pm

Normis, can you confirm that:

1. OSPF is not stable -or-
2. We should be using routing-test?

BTW: I too keep static defaults in place and disabled for just such an occasion.
 
User avatar
Letni
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 5:16 am
Location: South Carolina

Fri May 04, 2007 3:14 pm

I would like to add that I have a network of 10 MT routers. I have also noticed that OSPF does not appear to be stable. The most notable issue is under neighbors, it stays at Init. I tried routing-test in the past and did not see any improvement. I should probably try it again before I contact support.

I have been tempted to make a suppout and send it to them for help. I have never used there tech support, anyone have any good coments on them?

-Louis
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1818
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Fri May 04, 2007 4:10 pm

have you tried with M/T ROS v3beta7?
No. It's a production network. I act as conservative as I can
as I get a lot of angry people on the phone.

Stefan
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1818
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

RIP working?

Fri May 04, 2007 5:13 pm

Anyone tried RIP with more than 10 MTs?
Stefan
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5965
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Fri May 04, 2007 6:23 pm

You must use routing-test for sure. Any bugs in routing are fixed only in routing-test package. Don't be afraid of "test" it doesn't mean that this package is only for testing
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1818
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Fri May 04, 2007 9:00 pm

You must use routing-test for sure. Any bugs in routing are fixed only in routing-test package. Don't be afraid of "test" it doesn't mean that this package is only for testing
Yes, routing-test is more advanced, but my problem exists on both
routing and routing-test..May be it has nothing to do with both. Multicast
packets do not reach the neighbors and this is what Ospf depends on.

Stefan
 
firebat
Member
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Mon May 07, 2007 5:02 am

Add another that has seen the same thing with default static not getting redistributed on a reboot. It doesn't happen every time.
 
tralala
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:55 am

Mon May 07, 2007 9:30 am

I have seen problem too, many times...
 
redkurawa
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 4:13 am
Contact:

Mon May 07, 2007 9:58 am

I have same problem too, use 2.9.42

After the routerboard reboot, the cisco cannot connect the mikrotik OSPF.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ahmedezldin and 175 guests