Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
waylockwisp
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 3:00 am
Location: Midwest USA

PPPoE running for 2 users but will not work for anyone else

Wed Dec 08, 2004 4:57 am

MT Log Error Message:

21:04:29 wlan2: client MAC associates
21:04:57 PPPoE connection established for MAC
21:04:57 <pppoe-test>:authenticated
21:04:57 <pppoe-test>:terminating...*disconnected
21:04:57 <pppoe-test>:disconnected

Client Side Error Message (WinXP):

TCP/IP CP reported error 738: The server did not assign an address

Comments:
All users that I'm attempting to connect have beautiful signal levels and signal quality (-60's or better RSSI at MT in most cases). I have only been able to get 2 customers connected via PPPoE and no one else. These two customers haven't had one issue with their current PPPoE connections...operate beautifully!! But literally their neighbors or clients closer to transmitter can't connect, hence why I believe it is a MT setup issue. I can't even connect myself right near the site using WinXP PPPoE client or TrendNet router connection. I've tried both client setup with and without the service name.

Any suggestions on how to trouble shoot such a problem? I've been told that the PPPoE server acts like its own DHCP server, so I really don't know why the clients aren't getting IPs from the PPPoE pool.

System Config:

1 Macro site, Alpha sector as backhaul to another site, Beta Sector serving customers. Have HotSpot running and attempting to switch customers over to PPPoE connections where possible. Using Senao 2511CD+EXT2 as AP on Wlan2 running on MT Router Board 230 Wireless Bundle. Using Senao 2511 200mW Multi-Client Bridges on customer side. Using TrendNet broadband routers at customer side and have also tried WinXP PPPoE client only. Most clients have MAC cloning turned on, but I have tried it both ways.

MT Setup:

# dec/07/2004 21:21:37 by RouterOS 2.8.11

/ ppp profile
add name="ResidentialPlan_pppoe_profile" local-address=X.Y.Z.1 remote-address=pppoe-pool session-timeout=0s \
idle-timeout=0s use-compression=yes use-vj-compression=no use-encryption=no require-encryption=no only-one=no \
change-tcp-mss=yes tx-bit-rate=1024000 rx-bit-rate=1024000 incoming-filter="" outgoing-filter="" \
dns-server=a.b.c.13,a.b.c.14 wins-server="" comment=""

/ ip pool
add name="pppoe-pool" ranges=X.Y.Z.2,X.Y.Z.254
add name="hs-pool-real" ranges=X.Y.W.2-X.Y.W.254

/ ppp secret
add name="test" service=any caller-id="" password="test" profile=ResidentialPlan_pppoe_profile local-address=0.0.0.0 \
remote-address=0.0.0.0 routes="" limit-bytes-in=0 limit-bytes-out=0 comment="" disabled=no

/ interface pppoe-server server
add service-name="internet" interface=wlan2 mtu=1480 mru=1460 authentication=mschap2,chap,pap keepalive-timeout=disabled \
one-session-per-host=no default-profile=ResidentialPlan_pppoe_profile disabled=no

MT manuals recommend adding a mangle rule in the example setup for PPPoE. Can someone explain if this is needed....pros/cons of using? Regarding the PPPoE Profile incoming/outgoing filters, could someone also add a few comments on best way to utilize if needed at all. I've noticed a wide variety of uses/selections for these filters on others that are operating PPPoE connections.

Thank you in advance for your help!
 
User avatar
mag
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:32 pm
Location: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Contact:

Wed Dec 08, 2004 10:44 am

why using 2.8.11? i would recommend upgrading to 2.8.21.

regards.
  matthias
 
User avatar
Eugene
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 993
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: Cranfield, UK

Wed Dec 08, 2004 1:22 pm

You have only two addresses in you PPPoE pool:
/ ip pool
add name="pppoe-pool" ranges=X.Y.Z.2,X.Y.Z.254
Tout individu a droit à la vie, à la liberté et à la sûreté de sa personne.
 
waylockwisp
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 3:00 am
Location: Midwest USA

Thank You!! Sometimes you just need another pair of eyes...

Wed Dec 08, 2004 5:29 pm

Eugene, thanks for the catch of the comma vs. the dash.

mag, I'm in the process of upgrading my routers to 2.8.21.

Any suggestions on the incoming/outgoing filters?
 
User avatar
Eugene
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 993
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: Cranfield, UK

Wed Dec 08, 2004 5:40 pm

http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.8/ip ... l.frameset

go to IP Firewall Applications section.
Tout individu a droit à la vie, à la liberté et à la sûreté de sa personne.
 
User avatar
mag
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:32 pm
Location: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Contact:

Re: Thank You!! Sometimes you just need another pair of eye

Wed Dec 08, 2004 8:35 pm

Eugene, thanks for the catch of the comma vs. the dash.

mag, I'm in the process of upgrading my routers to 2.8.21.

Any suggestions on the incoming/outgoing filters?
argh, i was really blind there;-)

i'd guess http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.8/guide/aaa.content shows profile specific filters. but we don't use them yet. only the suggested input filters as in "protecting your router".

regards.
  matthias

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jebz and 101 guests