Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
rafa_lore
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Salta
Contact:

Problems for the installation of a RouterOS in a PC

Tue May 08, 2007 10:43 pm

Hello
I what to ask if someone can help me to solve a problem that I've during the installation a RouterOS in a PC.
I tried to install a Router to improve a balancing of two Internet connection that I have. I tried it, with the free version that you can download from the WEB. I what to play everything with this version and then buy a license version when it work perfectly.
Well, the installation was made from a CD. The first process of the installation execute perfect, the problem appear in the first boot, it stop work, doesn't boot nothing. The machine does not respond to anything, no message appear NOTHING!!!!!
I tried changing the configuration of the BIOS, for example, I change the way to access to the disc LBA, Large or CHS, also annul the IRQ, the sound EVERYTHING and always the same does not pass that problem.
To analize the problem I tried with other version of the OS, like 2.9.26, 2.9.27, 2.9.6 and 2.9.7, but I've the same answer.
The characteristics of the PC are:
Motherboard: Biostart M6VLB
Processor: Pentium III
Memory RAM: 768 MB
Disco: 6 Gb
3 Placas de Red
Thank very much, and sorry with my poor english

Rafael Loré
Salta - Argentina
 
cmacneill
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 294
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:51 pm
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Tue May 08, 2007 11:10 pm

Have you got the boot order of the discs correct? Maybe in changing the boot order to allow booting from CDROM you managed to leave the hard disc out of the list?

Regards

Chris Macneill
 
rafa_lore
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Salta
Contact:

Tue May 08, 2007 11:36 pm

Hello
Thank very much for your answer.
Yes, the only think that I have connected to the computer is the master disk and the slave CDROM. Both are in IDE1, and the disk is in MASTER.
About the order of boot first is the disk and in second place the cdrom, so when I want to boot from the CD I've to order to de PC.
Regard,

Rafael Loré
 
User avatar
usrox
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 7:59 am

Wed May 09, 2007 8:41 am

Hi, are you already try install mikrotik on another disk ? or you can also try install mikrotik on DOM or CF Disk.
 
User avatar
winxp2000
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: China
Contact:

Wed May 09, 2007 1:04 pm

2.9.26, 2.9.27, 2.9.6 and 2.9.7???????????

hehe

Why don't you try to install the newest version 2.9.42 ??

I do not think you will find any question after install it.

Where did you download such version as above?
 
User avatar
usrox
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 7:59 am

Wed May 09, 2007 1:40 pm

Same question as "winxp2000" did. :D
The versions which you try to install are very old.
 
rafa_lore
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Salta
Contact:

Wed May 09, 2007 3:19 pm

Hi
I say that "I tried it, with the free version that you can download from the WEB" so this is a newest version, so 2.9.42. I beging with it!
To tried I used the older version
Rafael Lore
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24375
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed May 09, 2007 3:22 pm

sorry, but you can only get help after you install a paid version of RouterOS.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], bobobobo and 74 guests