Page 1 of 1

Speed limit on queue not working

Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 1:31 pm
by keithstarrate
Hi there,

I'm having an issue with a speed limit I'm trying to apply on 2 separate interfaces on an RB951 (6.43.4) that I was hoping someone might be able to assist with.
I have 2 separate physical LANs plugged in to the Mik on independent interfaces using the same WAN interface (20mbps) and want to apply bandwidth limits of approximately 15 and 5 mbps, respectively.
LAN1 (192.168.100.0) uses a Linux firewall (192.168.100.85(LAN), 10.0.0.2(WAN) as it's LAN gateway which in turn uses the Mikrotik (10.0.0.254 - eth2) as it's gateway.
LAN2 (192.168.0.0) is just a switch plugging in to eth3 (192.168.0.254) on the Mik, also using it as it's gateway.
Routing is all working fine and the LANs can't see each other but when running speed tests using the queue speed limits I've applied I'm not getting the intended limitations, or any limitation for that matter. I've tried dropping them as low as a few hundred kbps but still seem to get full throughput when doing speed tests and downloads.
I've attached screenshots of the queues.

Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Re: Speed limit on queue not working

Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:36 pm
by davidsheffield
goto your bridge general tab and uncheck fast forward then click apply, this should work

Re: Speed limit on queue not working

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 11:43 am
by keithstarrate
Thanks, David. Unfortunately, this did not help.

Re: Speed limit on queue not working

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 11:53 am
by skylark
Disable action=fasttrack-connection under firewall filter rules or enable use-ip-firewall under bridge settings if you have one configured. If it still does not work, please show us devices /export hide-sensitive !

Re: Speed limit on queue not working

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 12:15 pm
by keithstarrate
I found the solution here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6LaqhDm6PHI

The fast track rule needs to be removed from the firewall

viewtopic.php?t=120772

Re: Speed limit on queue not working

Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 3:57 pm
by skylark
You can keep the rule for the traffic which should not be shaped with queues and it will increase overall throughput, and reduce a CPU load.