Page 1 of 1

How to spcific Dintance for routes in ppp->secret

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:58 am
by ArShuRaZ
mkt-ppp1.jpg
mkt-ppp2.jpg
I have 2 vpn connections (2 user) from client side connect to server side.
(Note: 1 MikroTik at Client and 1 MikroTik at Server.)

Each connection use different Internet ISP. Main ISP bandwidth 700/700 Mbps and backup ISP bandwidth 50/50 Mbps

I'd like to set routing distance to have Main ISP as Prefer route. but at server side menu ppp->secret, it has only space to insert routing in "Routes" and has no where to specific distance for those route.

In Route List, it always has distance = 1 for both vpn connection.. so the MikroTik at server side will use route from lastest vpn connection. If vpn from backup ISP is reconnected, the active routing will change to go via backup ISP, even the Main ISP is still active.

Is there anyway to config in other menu for solve this situation?

Thank you very much.

Re: How to spcific Dintance for routes in ppp->secret

Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2020 6:58 am
by ArShuRaZ
No one has any idea?

Or this should be a feature request?

Re: How to spcific Dintance for routes in ppp->secret

Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2020 12:54 pm
by evince
Hello,

Just add the distance at the end of your routes.

aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd/32 eee.fff.ggg.hhh 120

Reagrds,

Re: How to spcific Dintance for routes in ppp->secret

Posted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 12:23 pm
by aproetz
Have you tested this?
Getting "bad route" when attempting to add as suggested: eee.fff.ggg.hhh 120

Re: How to spcific Dintance for routes in ppp->secret

Posted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:27 pm
by tdw
What value did you use for eee.fff.ggg.hhh? It should be a specific gateway address, or 0.0.0.0 for the Mikrotik to select an appropriate one.

Re: How to spcific Dintance for routes in ppp->secret

Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 7:31 pm
by ArShuRaZ
Hello,

Just add the distance at the end of your routes.

aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd/32 eee.fff.ggg.hhh 120

Reagrds,
Already tried that with 192.168.10.0/24 50

.... dynamic route distance is still 1

Re: How to spcific Dintance for routes in ppp->secret

Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 7:47 pm
by tdw
Already tried that with 192.168.10.0/24 50

.... dynamic route distance is still 1
That syntax is incorrect. As mentioned above, and in the description of routes here https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:P ... operties_2, it should be 192.168.10.0/24 0.0.0.0 50

Re: How to spcific Dintance for routes in ppp->secret

Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 3:47 pm
by ArShuRaZ
Already tried that with 192.168.10.0/24 50

.... dynamic route distance is still 1
That syntax is incorrect. As mentioned above, and in the description of routes here https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:P ... operties_2, it should be 192.168.10.0/24 0.0.0.0 50
Oh... You're right. It works!! Thank you very much.
just add gateway (0.0.0.0)

for multiple subnet it will look like this "192.168.10.0/24 0.0.0.0 10, 10.0.0.0/24 0.0.0.0 10"