Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
IntraLink
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Utah Valley
Contact:

Quick upgrade question

Sun Dec 12, 2004 8:45 pm

When I upgrade via ftp I usually upload the system package, reboot and then upload all of the utility packages.

I think with this method I lose the settings, like the wireless configuration etc, right?

Can I just upload the system and all of the utility packages at once and expect it to upgrade everything on reboot and keep the settings?

Thanks for your help!
 
mip
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:19 pm
Location: Ráckeve
Contact:

Sun Dec 12, 2004 9:14 pm

We did it several times, and it works.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7q0Y_JZMrg - the country you must visit
 
wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Mon Dec 13, 2004 5:33 am

just upgraded three of our MT's this way (upload everything and reboot) no problems no configuration losses. Should work fine.
 
User avatar
stephenpatrick
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:26 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Mon Dec 13, 2004 12:52 pm

Suggest ftp **all** the packages you want, then reboot.
Remember to include only ONE of the wireless packages (standard or legacy).
Worked fine for 6 different upgrades of RouterOS with wireless

I think upgrading just "system" then the others later is creating the problems you describe, the packages will be out of step with the system portion.

Regards
CableFree - Wireless Excellence - Microwave, E-band Radios, Free Space Optics, High performance Radios & Routers
http://www.cablefree.net

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cedie, dioeyandika, Google [Bot], madmucho, wichets and 49 guests