Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
AtifKhan
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:05 pm
Location: Jeddah

RouterOs and Radius Manager on Single Machine

Sun May 27, 2007 2:44 am

Is it possible to have RouterOs + Radius Manager + Squid Proxy on Single Machine.

RouterOs
(PPPoE Server + Firewall + Bandwidth Manager

Radius Manager
(Mysql+FreeRadius+FrontEnd+Squid proxy)

All on same machine. if someone tried it.

Atif Khan
 
User avatar
mneumark
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Escalon, CA
Contact:

Re: RouterOs and Radius Manager on Single Machine

Sun May 27, 2007 9:42 am

Yes its possible. All the machines i have are way overbuilt. I don't have any issues.

Matt
 
User avatar
nazadnan2003
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:12 am
Location: Iraq
Contact:

Re: RouterOs and Radius Manager on Single Machine

Sun May 27, 2007 12:24 pm

Yes its possible. All the machines i have are way overbuilt. I don't have any issues.

Matt
can you please explain in details how can you achieve this.

Many thanks
 
AtifKhan
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:05 pm
Location: Jeddah

Re: RouterOs and Radius Manager on Single Machine

Sun May 27, 2007 2:12 pm

I would like to know how you did it. how its possible. what hardware did you used what os did you used. kindly provide more information to understand it better.

Atif Khan
 
User avatar
mneumark
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Escalon, CA
Contact:

Re: RouterOs and Radius Manager on Single Machine

Mon May 28, 2007 4:52 am

You can do this by using VMware. Just to be careful, pay really close attention on the amount of processor power and ram you have.

Matt
 
User avatar
nazadnan2003
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:12 am
Location: Iraq
Contact:

Re: RouterOs and Radius Manager on Single Machine

Mon May 28, 2007 9:14 am

You can do this by using VMware. Just to be careful, pay really close attention on the amount of processor power and ram you have.

Matt
Can you please be more specific:
- What is the mane OS ? Is it Windows ?
- What is the VMware you use ? Is it Microsoft VM
- What is your recommendation for CPU and RAM ?
- Did you use this machine in real environment ?
- What is the amount of your traffic ?
- What is the number of your concurrent users ?

Many thanks
 
User avatar
mneumark
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Escalon, CA
Contact:

Re: RouterOs and Radius Manager on Single Machine

Mon May 28, 2007 9:32 am

- What is the mane OS ? Is it Windows ?
Fedora and MT

- What is the VMware you use ? Is it Microsoft VM
VMware

- What is your recommendation for CPU and RAM ?
I would recommend a dual core processor in the manor (2GHz+). The dual core process will help with VMware and fedora, but secondary core will not be utilized in MT.
2GB+ RAM

- Did you use this machine in real environment ?
Yes (also tested with gaming users)

- What is the amount of your traffic ?
5MB-10MB/2MB-7MB of Traffic per second

- What is the number of your concurrent users ?
~400
 
AtifKhan
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:05 pm
Location: Jeddah

Re: RouterOs and Radius Manager on Single Machine

Mon May 28, 2007 4:15 pm

Never Tired VMware but i would love to try it. I need some starting point to start using VMware any good tutorial site for startup of VMware.

And define little info about steps for

Installation RouterOs + fedora Core 5
 
User avatar
mneumark
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Escalon, CA
Contact:

Re: RouterOs and Radius Manager on Single Machine

Mon May 28, 2007 8:58 pm

Never Tired VMware but i would love to try it. I need some starting point to start using VMware any good tutorial site for startup of VMware.

And define little info about steps for

Installation RouterOs + fedora Core 5
You will need to run two virtual machines. One with RouterOS and One with Fedora Core. This can all be done a single machine.

If you search online search for preloaded Fedora core appliances. The are free and save you the time configuring it and setting it up. You can download a preloaded VMware appliance with Squid preloaded from http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/directory/57

Then after you got that running create another additional virtual machine and load it use pxe if possible and then use netinstall to install it onto the virtual machine.

Hopefully this helps some.

Matt
 
firebat
Member
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Re: RouterOs and Radius Manager on Single Machine

Sat Jun 09, 2007 5:46 am

If you have 8 ether ports in the machine, you can assign each to which ever partition/VM that you wish? Can you assign CPU affinity, etc also?
 
User avatar
mneumark
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:20 am
Location: Escalon, CA
Contact:

Re: RouterOs and Radius Manager on Single Machine

Sat Jun 09, 2007 7:47 am

If you have 8 ether ports in the machine, you can assign each to which ever partition/VM that you wish? Can you assign CPU affinity, etc also?
Well you can assign nics to the VM machine you want. When it comes to the CPU affinity you are going to set that in windows on the VM software.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 93 guests