Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
kiharapet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 2:30 pm

LTE Interface going Stale and Disconnecting

Wed Apr 15, 2020 2:58 pm

Hello
My setup I have
  • A RB2011UiAS-2HnD-iN
  • Android device(Alcatel A7) that i use as a Modem via USB tethering.
I have setup everything and can browse and reach all my LAN devices.

But I am having a disconnect issue every about 2-30 minutes it disconnects when the phone is in 4G Mode
If i force 3G everything works perfectly, This had led me to believe it was an Android Version issue.
USB tethering is still on on the phone but if i try and renew the dhcp client i get nothing i disconnect the cable and reconnect and i am back.
I have tested by connecting to a laptop and the connection stays connected

how can i resolve or point me in the right direction.
how can i get more detailed logs to maybe help narrow down issue.
I need the 4G since the primary provider in my area is 4G only
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 760
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LTE Interface going Stale and Disconnecting

Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:47 pm

If you detect lte1 interface and this is not stable, then you can only change USB cable, use USB HUB with own Power, test other android phone.
We not have a list of compatibility with Android phones, version or hardware list...
Remember to got latest ROS v6 like stable channel.
Be sure that System > Port > Firmware > Ignore DirectIP is disable.
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I will be at MUMEUROPE Prague on ?? ?? 202?
 
kiharapet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 2:30 pm

Re: LTE Interface going Stale and Disconnecting

Sat Apr 25, 2020 2:14 pm

Hi SiB
Thank you for the attention.
Could the issue be with the DHCP? i see that everytime i have the issue the LTE MAC changes
dhcp,debug,state dhcp-client on lte1 entering <stopped> state
dhcp,debug,packet dhcp-client on lte1 sending release with id 4103979375 to 255.255.255.255
dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 192.168.42.140
dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = C2:65:D0:A5:F4:A9
dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = release
dhcp,debug,packet     Server-Id = 0.0.0.0
dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-C2-65-D0-A5-F4-A9
dhcp,debug,state dhcp-client on lte1 entering <selecting...> state
dhcp,debug,packet dhcp-client on lte1 sending discover with id 822573146 to 255.255.255.255
dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast
dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0
dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 22:32:DB:29:93:DD
dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover
dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Classless-Route,Router,Static-Route,Domain-Server,NTP-Server,CAPWAP-Server,Vendor-Specific
dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "MikroTik"
dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-22-32-DB-29-93-DD
dhcp,debug,packet dhcp-client on lte1 sending discover with id 822573146 to 255.255.255.255
dhcp,debug,packet     secs = 2
dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast
dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0
dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 22:32:DB:29:93:DD
dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover
dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Classless-Route,Router,Static-Route,Domain-Server,NTP-Server,CAPWAP-Server,Vendor-Specific
dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "MikroTik"
dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-22-32-DB-29-93-DD
dhcp,debug,packet dhcp-client on lte1 sending discover with id 822573146 to 255.255.255.255
dhcp,debug,packet     secs = 3
dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast
dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0
dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 22:32:DB:29:93:DD
dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover
dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Classless-Route,Router,Static-Route,Domain-Server,NTP-Server,CAPWAP-Server,Vendor-Specific
dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "MikroTik"
dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-22-32-DB-29-93-DD
dhcp,debug,packet dhcp-client on lte1 received offer with id 822573146 from 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast
dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0
dhcp,debug,packet     yiaddr = 192.168.42.150
dhcp,debug,packet     siaddr = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 22:32:DB:29:93:DD
dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = offer
dhcp,debug,packet     Server-Id = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     Address-Time = 3600
dhcp,debug,packet     Renewal-Time = 1800
dhcp,debug,packet     Rebinding-Time = 3150
dhcp,debug,packet     Subnet-Mask = 255.255.255.0
dhcp,debug,packet     Broadcast-Address = 192.168.42.255
dhcp,debug,packet     Router = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     Domain-Server = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     Vendor-Specific = "ANDROID_METERED"
dhcp,debug,state dhcp-client on lte1 entering <requesting...> state
dhcp,debug,packet dhcp-client on lte1 sending request with id 822573146 to 255.255.255.255
dhcp,debug,packet     secs = 3
dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast
dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0
dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 22:32:DB:29:93:DD
dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = request
dhcp,debug,packet     Server-Id = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     Address-Request = 192.168.42.150
dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Classless-Route,Router,Static-Route,Domain-Server,NTP-Server,CAPWAP-Server,Vendor-Specific
dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "MikroTik"
dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-22-32-DB-29-93-DD
dhcp,debug,packet dhcp-client on lte1 received offer with id 822573146 from 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     secs = 2
dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast
dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0
dhcp,debug,packet     yiaddr = 192.168.42.150
dhcp,debug,packet     siaddr = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 22:32:DB:29:93:DD
dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = offer
dhcp,debug,packet     Server-Id = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     Address-Time = 3600
dhcp,debug,packet     Renewal-Time = 1800
dhcp,debug,packet     Rebinding-Time = 3150
dhcp,debug,packet     Subnet-Mask = 255.255.255.0
dhcp,debug,packet     Broadcast-Address = 192.168.42.255
dhcp,debug,packet     Router = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     Domain-Server = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     Vendor-Specific = "ANDROID_METERED"
dhcp,debug,packet     dhcp-client on lte1 received offer with id 822573146 from 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     secs = 3
dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast
dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0
dhcp,debug,packet     yiaddr = 192.168.42.150
dhcp,debug,packet     siaddr = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 22:32:DB:29:93:DD
dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = offer
dhcp,debug,packet     Server-Id = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     Address-Time = 3600
dhcp,debug,packet     Renewal-Time = 1800
dhcp,debug,packet     Rebinding-Time = 3150
dhcp,debug,packet     Subnet-Mask = 255.255.255.0
dhcp,debug,packet     Broadcast-Address = 192.168.42.255
dhcp,debug,packet     Router = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     Domain-Server = 192.168.42.129
dhcp,debug,packet     Vendor-Specific = "ANDROID_METERED"
how would this change make the device react? and is there a way to stabilize the MAC?
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 760
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LTE Interface going Stale and Disconnecting

Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:35 pm

What MAC Changes ? At that logs you have only one MAC=22:32:DB:29:93:DD.
You see the lte1 interface. You not receive any details from that dhcp ? What status he have?
How I can help if I not see what problem is ?

If you see many re-connection then try static IP address and routing. Does lte1 is re-connect too? Does usb 1-1 device is re-connect too? At what level you see not stable connection ?
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I will be at MUMEUROPE Prague on ?? ?? 202?
 
kiharapet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 2:30 pm

Re: LTE Interface going Stale and Disconnecting

Sat May 02, 2020 3:48 pm

sorry for late response.
# may/02/2020 15:43:49 by RouterOS 6.46.6
# software id = 82QS-JV7P
#
# model = 2011UiAS-2HnD
# serial number = 762D0733BACB
/interface lte
set [ find ] mac-address=3A:27:FD:4A:D9:EB mtu=1528 name=lte1
/interface bridge
add name=HomeLAN
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] antenna-gain=1 band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=\
    20/40mhz-Ce country=kenya disabled=no frequency=auto installation=indoor \
    mode=ap-bridge ssid=TikTok wps-mode=disabled
/interface list
add name=WAN
add name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk,wpa2-eap mode=\
    dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa2-pre-shared-key=duduone2
/ip pool
add name=dhcp ranges=192.168.2.50-192.168.2.100
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp disabled=no interface=HomeLAN name=dhcp1
/user group
set full policy="local,telnet,ssh,ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,winbox,passw\
    ord,web,sniff,sensitive,api,romon,dude,tikapp"
/interface bridge port
add bridge=HomeLAN interface=ether1
add bridge=HomeLAN interface=ether2
add bridge=HomeLAN interface=ether3
add bridge=HomeLAN interface=ether4
add bridge=HomeLAN interface=ether5
add bridge=HomeLAN interface=ether6
add bridge=HomeLAN interface=ether7
add bridge=HomeLAN interface=ether8
add bridge=HomeLAN interface=ether9
add bridge=HomeLAN interface=ether10
add bridge=HomeLAN interface=wlan1
/interface detect-internet
set detect-interface-list=all
/interface list member
add interface=lte1 list=WAN
add interface=HomeLAN list=LAN
add list=WAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.2.1/25 interface=HomeLAN network=192.168.2.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=Phone disabled=no interface=lte1 use-peer-ntp=no
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.2.0/25 gateway=192.168.2.1 netmask=25
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes servers=8.8.8.8
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat log=yes out-interface-list=WAN
/ipv6 dhcp-client
add add-default-route=yes interface=lte1 request=address
/lcd
set backlight-timeout=5m flip-screen=yes read-only-mode=yes touch-screen=\
    disabled
/lcd interface pages
set 0 interfaces=wlan1
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Africa/Nairobi
/system identity
set name="Kuku Samaki"
/system leds
add leds="" type=off
The current Code.
it will work fine for some time then all of a sudden start being unstable

I have remove a bulk of the configs as i was troubleshooting
 
sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5099
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: LTE Interface going Stale and Disconnecting

Sat May 02, 2020 4:26 pm

Do I get it right that you've overcome the issue of the MAC address of the LTE interface changing, as shown in post #3,
dhcp,debug,packet dhcp-client on lte1 sending release with id 4103979375 to 255.255.255.255
...
dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = C2:65:D0:A5:F4:A9
dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = release
...
dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-C2-65-D0-A5-F4-A9
...
dhcp,debug,packet dhcp-client on lte1 sending discover with id 822573146 to 255.255.255.255
dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 22:32:DB:29:93:DD
dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover
...
dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-22-32-DB-29-93-DD

by setting it to a static one:
/interface lte
set [ find ] mac-address=3A:27:FD:4A:D9:EB mtu=1528 name=lte1
,

but nevertheless the interface becomes unstable after some time of flawless operation?

Are you sure it is not the mobile operator who breaks long connections? They are quite creative, I've seen operators terminating the connection after an hour.
Instead of writing novels, post /export hide-sensitive. Use find&replace in your favourite text editor to systematically replace all occurrences of each public IP address potentially identifying you by a distinctive pattern such as my.public.ip.1.
 
kiharapet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 2:30 pm

Re: LTE Interface going Stale and Disconnecting

Fri May 22, 2020 2:14 pm

@sindy no the issue is still present the rndis MAC changes on every disconnect

after reading up on viewtopic.php?t=153418 i changed the STP to STP and the situation is so much better i can connect my android device to the network and the connection is much much much stable however it still disconnects but now i can attend meetings and do some work without the frustrating disconnection. the connection on cable is much more stable than wifi so my question now is what else can i check on wifi that may be causing the issue. since with no wifi device the link is stable
 
kiharapet
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 2:30 pm

Re: LTE Interface going Stale and Disconnecting

Fri May 22, 2020 6:16 pm

i found that on wifi the disconnects are still happening albeit after a much longer period. and some issues have disaperated
I can now use my other phone on the network.
and if i connect on cable the connection is flawless no issues at all.
below my code
# may/22/2020 18:09:31 by RouterOS 6.45.9
# software id = 82QS-JV7P
#
# model = 2011UiAS-2HnD
# serial number = 762D0733BACB
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] disabled=yes
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] disabled=yes
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] disabled=yes
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] disabled=yes
set [ find default-name=ether6 ] disabled=yes
set [ find default-name=ether7 ] disabled=yes
set [ find default-name=ether8 ] disabled=yes
set [ find default-name=ether10 ] advertise=\
    10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-full poe-out=off
set [ find default-name=sfp1 ] disabled=yes
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=25:29:D7:3C:27:7E arp-timeout=1m auto-mac=no comment=defconf \
    fast-forward=no mtu=1500 name=HomeLAN protocol-mode=none
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] antenna-gain=2 band=2ghz-b/g/n bridge-mode=\
    disabled channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce comment=Wireless country=kenya \
    disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto installation=indoor \
    keepalive-frames=disabled max-station-count=20 mode=ap-bridge \
    multicast-helper=disabled name=wireless ssid=TikTok station-roaming=\
    disabled wireless-protocol=802.11 wmm-support=enabled wps-mode=disabled
/interface lte
set [ find ] comment="Android USB Tether" mac-address=82:D6:6F:F2:31:5B name=\
    android
/interface wireless nstreme
set wireless comment=Wireless
/interface wireless manual-tx-power-table
set wireless comment=Wireless
/interface ethernet switch port
set 0 default-vlan-id=0 vlan-mode=fallback
set 1 default-vlan-id=0 vlan-mode=fallback
set 2 default-vlan-id=0 vlan-mode=fallback
set 3 default-vlan-id=0 vlan-mode=fallback
set 4 default-vlan-id=0 vlan-mode=fallback
set 5 default-vlan-id=0 vlan-mode=fallback
set 11 default-vlan-id=0 vlan-mode=fallback
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk,wpa2-eap mode=\
    dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=Home wpa2-pre-shared-key=xxxxxxx
/ip dhcp-client option
add code=60 name=Vendorid value="'Provider'"
add code=43 name=vendor-specific value="'internet'"
/ip pool
add name=default-dhcp1 ranges=10.70.170.100-10.70.170.150
add name=default-dhcp ranges=172.20.100.50-172.20.100.100
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=default-dhcp disabled=no interface=HomeLAN lease-time=8h \
    name=defconf
/port
set 1 baud-rate=9600 data-bits=8 flow-control=none name=usb2 parity=none \
    stop-bits=1
set 2 baud-rate=9600 data-bits=8 flow-control=none name=usb3 parity=none \
    stop-bits=1
/system logging action
set 1 disk-file-count=7 disk-lines-per-file=2000
/user group
set full policy="local,telnet,ssh,ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,winbox,pas\
    sword,web,sniff,sensitive,api,romon,tikapp,!dude"
/interface bridge port
add bridge=HomeLAN comment=defconf interface=ether2
add bridge=HomeLAN comment=defconf interface=ether3
add bridge=HomeLAN comment=defconf interface=ether4
add bridge=HomeLAN comment=defconf interface=ether5
add bridge=HomeLAN comment=defconf interface=ether6
add bridge=HomeLAN comment=defconf interface=ether7
add bridge=HomeLAN comment=defconf interface=ether8
add bridge=HomeLAN comment=defconf interface=ether9
add bridge=HomeLAN comment=defconf interface=ether10
add bridge=HomeLAN comment=defconf interface=wireless
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LAN
/interface detect-internet
set detect-interface-list=all
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=HomeLAN list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=android list=WAN
/ip address
add address=172.20.100.1/25 comment=defconf interface=HomeLAN network=\
    172.20.100.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=defconf dhcp-options=hostname,clientid interface=ether1
add comment=homeconf disabled=no interface=android use-peer-dns=no \
    use-peer-ntp=no
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=172.20.100.0/25 comment=defconf dns-server=172.20.100.1,8.8.8.8 \
    gateway=172.20.100.1
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes cache-max-ttl=1d max-udp-packet-size=1024 \
    servers=8.8.4.4,8.8.8.8
/ip dns static
add address=172.20.100.1 comment=defconf name=router.lan
/ip firewall filter
add action=drop chain=input dst-port=53 in-interface=android protocol=udp \
    src-address-list="dns flood"
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
    established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=\
    invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept to local loopback (for CAPsMAN)" dst-address=127.0.0.1
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all not coming from LAN" \
    disabled=yes in-interface-list=!LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" \
    ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" \
    ipsec-policy=out,ipsec
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" \
    connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=\
    established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" \
    connection-state=invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat \
    connection-state=new disabled=yes in-interface-list=WAN
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: drop all from WAN not DSTNATed 2" connection-nat-state=!dstnat \
    disabled=yes in-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall mangle
add action=change-mss chain=forward new-mss=1450 out-interface=android \
    passthrough=yes protocol=tcp tcp-flags=syn tcp-mss=1451-65535
add action=change-ttl chain=forward disabled=yes new-ttl=set:128 \
    out-interface=android passthrough=yes
add action=change-mss chain=forward new-mss=clamp-to-pmtu passthrough=yes \
    protocol=tcp tcp-flags=syn
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" disabled=yes \
    ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface-list=WAN
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade 2" \
    log-prefix=lte out-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall raw
add action=add-src-to-address-list address-list="dns flood" \
    address-list-timeout=1d chain=prerouting disabled=yes dst-port=53 \
    in-interface=android protocol=udp
/ip service
set telnet disabled=yes
set ftp disabled=yes
set www disabled=yes
set ssh disabled=yes
set www-ssl certificate=defaultcert disabled=no
set api disabled=yes
set api-ssl disabled=yes
/lcd
set backlight-timeout=5m default-screen=stats enabled=no flip-screen=yes \
    read-only-mode=yes
/lcd interface
add interface=android
/lcd interface pages
set 0 interfaces=wireless
add interfaces=android
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Africa/Nairobi
/system identity
set name=Home
/system logging
add action=disk topics=error
add action=disk topics=warning
add action=disk topics=critical
add action=disk topics=dhcp,raw
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes primary-ntp=162.159.200.123 server-dns-names=\
    " ke.pool.ntp.org"
/system package update
set channel=long-term
/system script
add dont-require-permissions=no name=USBR owner=pablo policy=\
    ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,password,sniff,sensitive,romon source=\
    "system routerboard usb power-reset duration=5"
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool netwatch
add comment="comment LAN down" disabled=yes down-script=\
    "log info \"LANDown\";" host=192.168.42.129 interval=10s timeout=20ms \
    up-script="log info \"LANUp\""
add disabled=yes down-script="log info \"NetDown\"" host=8.8.8.8 timeout=\
    500ms up-script="log info \"NetUp\""
add comment=reboot down-script="system routerboard usb power-reset duration=2;\
    \r\
    \nlog warning \"rebootsent\"\r\
    \n" host=192.168.42.129 interval=5s timeout=20ms
/tool sniffer
set file-name=test filter-interface=android filter-operator-between-entries=\
    and filter-port=bootpc,bootps memory-limit=1000KiB

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: arfcz, Google Feedfetcher, ivanxx, Jotne, msatter, sohel07 and 81 guests