Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
elhombredelabata
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 2:47 am

PLEASE HELP - IPSEC and Remote Clients

Tue May 29, 2007 4:09 pm

Please, this is the third post i made over this subject, if anyone can please help me, i´ll be thanksfull.

I need to configure L2TP/IPSEC to work whit remote clients, that are in different location and whit differen IP address. The IP adresses are unknown and can change at any time.

I have try L2TP/IPSEC whit static peers and work great, but can´t make it work when the peer is unknown.
 
User avatar
andrewluck
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:05 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

Re: PLEASE HELP - IPSEC and Remote Clients

Sun Jun 03, 2007 3:11 pm

There is a setting in ISAKMP for "generate-policy=yes"

Regards

Andrew
 
elhombredelabata
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 2:47 am

Re: PLEASE HELP - IPSEC and Remote Clients

Mon Jun 04, 2007 11:04 pm

Thanks a lot for the answer, but i already try the "generate-policy=yes"
and works fine only if the peer has a known ip address.
I need to make IPSEC work for unknown address of remote peers.
 
User avatar
andrewluck
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:05 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

Re: PLEASE HELP - IPSEC and Remote Clients

Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:59 pm

This is what "generate-policy=yes" does. Make sure you specify the client IP address as 0.0.0.0. Subnet mask is either /0 or /32, I can't remember which.

Regards

Andrew
 
elhombredelabata
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 2:47 am

Re: PLEASE HELP - IPSEC and Remote Clients

Sun Jul 08, 2007 2:20 am

andrewluck, thanks a lot for the answer, it works ok with the /0 that was the mistake.

Now i receive 4 o 5 IPSec Warnings - Incoming packet with unknown SPI and a info message with: ipsec no a found: proto=esp spi=4100391946 src=xx.xx.xx.xx dst=xx.xx.xx.xx

Some times it conects and some time not, i only have to retry 2 or 3 times anthen it conects OK.

I´using windows VPN client, i don´t know which other client can use.
 
User avatar
andrewluck
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:05 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

Re: PLEASE HELP - IPSEC and Remote Clients

Sun Jul 08, 2007 2:04 pm

Not much to go on there.

Check the IKE logs to see if anything is going wrong.

Also, you might try turning on ipsec logging on the windows client to see if that gives any clues.

Regards

Andrew

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], WarlitoBaya and 87 guests